ARCHIVED - Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Distribution List

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Archived Decisions, Notices and Orders (DNOs) remain in effect except to the extent they are amended or reversed by the Commission, a court, or the government. The text of archived information has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Changes to DNOs are published as “dashes” to the original DNO number. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Ottawa, 16 May 2017

Our reference: 1011-NOC2017-0092



Re: Phase out of the local service subsidy regime, Telecom Notice of Consultation
2017-92Footnote1 – Change to the filing date for responses to requests for information

Dear Madam, Sir:

On 18 April 2017, the Commission received a request from the Independent Telecommunications Providers Association (ITPA) to extend the filing deadlines set out in Telecom Notice of Consultation 2017-92. The ITPA requested that each of the deadlines be moved three weeks such that initial interventions would be filed with the Commission on 15 June 2017 and the record of the proceeding would close on 29 September 2017.

By letter dated 28 April 2017, Bell Canada (Bell) supported the ITPA’s request. In addition, Bell requested that a similar extension be granted to the filing date for the responses to the requests for informationFootnote2. By letter dated 1 May 2017, Saskatchewan Telecommunications supported Bell’s proposal to extend the filing date for the responses to requests for information.

In Telecom Notice of Consultation 2017-92-1, issued today, the Commission approved the ITPA’s request and set out revised filing dates for the proceeding. Accordingly, Commission staff considers it appropriate that the deadline for filing responses to the requests for information with the Commission be extended to 15 June 2017.


Original signed by

John Macri
Director, Policy Framework
Telecommunications Sector
c.c.: Christine Brock, CRTC, (819) 997-4557,

Distribution list

Incumbent local exchange carriers:

Bell Canada,;
Manitoba Telecom (MTS Inc.),;
Saskatchewan Telecommunications,;
Télébec, Société en commandite,;
TELUS Communications Company,;
Northwestel Inc.,;
9315-1884 Québec,;
Amtelecom Telco GP Inc.,;
Brooke Telecom Co-operative Ltd.,;
Bruce Telecom,;
CityWest Telephone Corporation,;
Cochrane Telecom Services,;
Execulink Telecom Inc.,;
Gosfield North Communication Co-operative Limited,;
Groupe Maskatel LP,;
Hay Communications Co-operative Limited,;
Huron Telecommunications Co-Operative Limited,;
Independent Telephone Providers Association,;
Lansdowne Rural Telephone Company Ltd.,;
Mornington Communications Co-operative Limited,;
Nexicom Telecommunications, a Division of Nexicom Inc.,;
Nexicom Telephones, a Division of Nexicom Inc.,;
North Frontenac Telephone Corporation Ltd,;
NRTC Communications,;
NorthernTel, Limited Partnership,;
O.N.Tel Inc.,;
People's Tel Limited Partnership,;
Quadro Communications Co-operative Inc.,;
Roxborough Telephone Company Limited,;
Sogetel inc.,;
Tuckersmith Communications Co-operative Limited,;
Wightman Telecom Ltd.,;
WTC Communications,

Date modified: