Telecom Commission Letter addressed to Distribution List

Ottawa, 7 November 2016

Our reference:  1011-NOC2016-0192

BY EMAIL

Distribution

Re:  Examination of differential practices related to Internet data plans, Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2016-192, 18 May 2016 – Requests for Information

Dear Madam, Sir:

Pursuant to paragraph 37 of Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2016-192, attached are requests for information from the Commission. The parties identified in the distribution list are to file responses to the questions set out in the attachment by 14 November 2016. These submissions must be received, not merely sent, by that date.

Sincerely,

Original signed by
Suneil Kanjeekal for

Andrew Falcone
Senior Manager
Strategic Planning & Research
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.:  Suneil Kanjeekal, CRTC, (613) 668-6561, suneil.kanjeekal@crtc.gc.ca
Jeremy Lendvay, CRTC, (819) 997-4946, jeremy.lendvay@crtc.gc.ca
Josiane Lord, CRTC, (819) 576-2568, josiane.lord@crtc.gc.ca
Eric Macfarlane, CRTC (819) 997-4389, eric.macfarlane@crtc.gc.ca

Distribution List

Bell Canada, bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Bragg communications Incorporated (Eastlink), regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca
Cogeco Communications, telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com
Distributel Communications Limited, regulatory@distributel.ca
Quebecor Media Inc., regaffairs@quebecor.com
Rogers Communications Inc., rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
Saskatchewan Telecommunications, document.control@sasktel.com
Shaw Cablesystems G.P., Regulatory@sjrb.ca
TBayTel, rob.olenick@tbaytel.com
TekSavvy Solutions Inc., regulatory@teksavvy.ca
TELUS Communications Company, regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Xplornet Communications Inc., cj.prudham@corp.xplornet.com

Attachment

  1. For your wireless and wireline networks, explain in detail at what level of the network (how close to the customer) you are capable of using technical ITMPs to manage congestion as it occurs for the duration of the congestion? For example on an individual subscriber basis, a wireless sector basis or some other local area?
  2. Explain in detail how such ITMPs would function and what are the considerations for their introduction.
  3. Describe in detail the constraints that you would face in limiting the impact of the technical ITMP to a smaller area than that provided in your response to the first question.
Date modified: