ARCHIVED - Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to Distribution List

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Archived Decisions, Notices and Orders (DNOs) remain in effect except to the extent they are amended or reversed by the Commission, a court, or the government. The text of archived information has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Changes to DNOs are published as “dashes” to the original DNO number. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Ottawa, 3 August 2016

File Number: 8663-C12-201503186

By Email

To: Distribution List

Re:Telecom Notice of Consultation 2015-134, Review of Basic Telecommunications Services—OpenMedia Application for Costs Award - Request for Extension

The purpose of this letter is to inform parties of the revised deadline for the filing of OpenMedia’s Reply in the above-noted costs proceeding.

On 27 July 2016, OpenMedia filed a procedural request seeking to extend, until 12 August 2016, the deadline for its Reply to Answers to its application for costs filed by potential costs respondents.

OpenMedia submitted that these Answers raised a wide range of issues that could implicate future applications for costs, both for itself and for other applicants. OpenMedia further submitted that it has only limited in-house resources with the expertise necessary to prepare its Reply. As a result, OpenMedia argued that it would not be possible for it to adequately address these issues within the standard Reply timeline. OpenMedia submitted that no participant in the costs proceeding would be prejudiced by the extension and that granting the extension would not unduly delay the proceeding.

No party responded to OpenMedia’s procedural request.

Commission staff agrees that the Answers filed in response to OpenMedia’s application for costs raise numerous important issues and considers that it would be in the public interest to allow OpenMedia the requested extension in order to ensure a full record on these issues. As a result, the deadline for OpenMedia’s Reply is hereby extended to 12 August 2016.

If you have any questions, please contact the undersigned by telephone at (613) 854-6182 or via email at

Yours Sincerely,

[original signed by]

Adam Balkovec
Legal Counsel

cc: Emilia de Somma, CRTC,

Distribution List :

Incumbent local exchange carriers

9315-1884 Québec inc. (formerly Courcelles and Lambton),  
Association des Compagnies de Téléphone du Québec,  
Amtelecom Telco GP Inc.,  
Bell CanadaFootnote  
Brooke Telecom Co-operative Ltd,  
Bruce Telecom,  
The Canadian Independent Telephone Company – Joint Task Force (CITC-JTF),  
CityWest Telephone Corporation,  
Cochrane Telecom Services,  
Execulink Telecom Inc.,  
Groupe Maskatel LP,  
Gosfield North Communication Co-operative Limited, 
Hay Communications Co-operative Limited,   
Huron Telecommunications Co-operative Limited,   
La Compagnie de téléphone de St-Victor,  
La Compagnie de téléphone Upton inc.,  
Lansdowne Rural Telephone Company Ltd,  
Mornington Communications Co-operative Limited,  
MTS Inc., 
Nexicom Telecommunications Inc.,  
Nexicom Telephones Inc.,   
North Frontenac Telephone Corporation Ltd,  
NRTC Communications,  
People's Tel Limited Partnership, 
Quadro Communications Co-operative Inc., 
Roxborough Telephone Company Limited, 
Saskatchewan Telecommunications, 
Sogetel inc., 
Téléphone de St-Éphrem inc., 
Téléphone Milot Inc., 
TELUS Communications Company, 
Tuckersmith Communications Co-operative Limited, 
Wightman Telecom Ltd, 
WTC Communications,

Other telecommunications service providers

Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc,  
Axia SuperNet Ltd./Axia Connect Ltd, 
Bragg Communications Incorporated (EastLink),  
Cogeco Cable Canada LP, 
Ice Wireless Inc.,  
Iristel Inc.,  
Québecor Média inc.,  
Rogers Communications Partnership,  
Shaw Cablesystems G.P.,  
SSi Micro Ltd,  
TekSavvy Solutions Inc.,  
Telesat Canada,  
Wind Mobile Corp.,  
Xplornet Communications Inc.,  
Yak Communications (Canada) Corp., 


John Lawford, Counsel for AAC,  
Geoffrey White, Counsel for AAC,  
Union des consommateurs,  
Canadian Wireless Internet Service Providers,  
Canadian Cable Systems Alliance Inc,  
R. Layton,  
B. Klass and M. Nanni,  
F. McKelvey,  
McNally et al.  
C. Middleton,  
Cree Nation/ECN, 
First Mile Connectivity Consortium,  
Canadian Hearing Society,  
Deaf Wireless Canada Committee,, 
Canadian Association of the Deaf-Association des Sourds du Canada (CAD-ASC),,  
Media Access Canada,  
Nunavut Broadband Development Corporation, 
Alberta Association of Municipal Districts and Counties,  
All Nations Trust Company,  
Canadian Federation of Agriculture,  
Eastern Ontario Wardens Caucus and the Eastern Ontario Regional Network,  
Federation of Canadian Municipalities,  
Northwest Territories Association of Communities,  
OneWeb, Ltd.,  
Open Media,  
Government of British Columbia,  
Government of Ontario,  
Government of Yukon,  
Gouvernement du Québec,  
Government of Northwest Territories, 
British Columbia Broadband Association,  
Forum for Research and Policy in Communications,  
Kativik Regional Government,  
Qikiqtaaluk Corporation, 
Campbell Patterson Communications,  
Manitoba Keewatinowi Okimakanak Inc.,;  
Vaxination Informatique,  
TCPub Media Inc..  
F. McKelvey,  
P. Germain,  
T. Shepherd,  
Government of Nunavut,  
Northwest Territories Association of Communities,  
R. Adams 
S. Lehmann,  
J. Roman,  
C. Lunau, Milton Councillor, Ward 3 (Nassagaweya),  
Chambre de commerce de la Ville de Sainte-Adèle,  
A. Lajoie, Député fédéral de Rimouski-Neigette--Témiscouata--Les Basques, 
The Association of Community Organizations for Reform Now, Canada (“ACORN Canada”),  
L. Berthold, Député Mégantic--L'Érable,  
S. Frankel, Thetis Island Resident's Association,  
D. Sokolov,  
S. Lowell,  
Canadian National Institute for the Blind (CNIB) and Alliance for Equality of Blind Canadians,  
C. Coyle,  
J. Rae,  
A. Jetté, Maire - St-André d'Argenteuil,  
B. Généreux, Député de Montmagny — L'Islet — Kamouraska — Rivière-du-Loup,  
Yellow Pages Limited,  
Harewaves Wireless Inc.,  
I. Phillips, 
D. Graham, Députés de Laurentides--Labelle de Pontiac,  
F. Brolly,  
B. LaHaise,  
Canadian Taxpayers Federation,  
Réseau intégré de communications électroniques des Îles-de-la-Madeleine,  
National Capital FreeNet,  
Chebucto Community Net Society,  
L’organisme de Gestion de l’inforoute régionale de l’Abitibi-Témiscamingue,  
M. Gammon,  
B. Borley,  
Kootenay Boundary Broadband Committee, 
La Fédération des communautés francophones et acadienne du Canada,  
A. Warolin, Préfet - MRC de Témiscamingue,  
Concordia University’s Faculty of Engineering and Computer Science,  
On Screen Manitoba,  
The Canadian Media Producers Association,


Footnote 1

Bell Canada, on its own behalf, and on behalf of its affiliates Bell Aliant Regional Communications, Limited Partnership (which effective 1 July 2015 was wound-up into Bell Canada, and is now operated as a division of Bell Canada), Bell Mobility Inc., Câblevision du Nord du Québec inc. (CVQ), DMTS, KMTS, NorthernTel, Limited Partnership, Northwestel Inc., Ontera and Télébec, Société en commandite.

Return to footnote 1

Date modified: