Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to John Lawford (Public Interest Advocacy Centre)

By email 

Ottawa, 18 July 2016

Mr. John Lawford
Executive Director and General Counsel
Public Interest Advocacy Centre
One Nicholas Street, Suite 1204
Ottawa, Ontario  K1N 7B7
lawford@piac.ca

CRTC File Number: 8663-P8-201607186

Dear Mr. Lawford:

Re:      PIAC’s Part 1 application regarding Quebec Bill 74 and purported ISP blocking – Additional procedure and extension of deadlines

The purpose of this letter is to inform you of additional procedural steps that are required in the case of the above-noted file and to extend certain deadlines associated therewith.

The Federal Courts ActFootnote 1 requires, pursuant to section 57, that notice be served on the Attorney General of Canada and on the attorneys general of each province whenever a question of the constitutional validity, applicability or operability of an Act of Parliament or of the legislature of a province is raised before a federal board, commission or other tribunal.

In light of this requirement, PIAC is to serve upon the Attorney General of Canada and upon each provincial or territorial attorney general within ten days of the present letter:

Also within ten days of the present letter, PIAC is to file proof of service with the Commission.

Commission staff notes PIAC’s submission that it has already copied the attorneys general of Canada and of Quebec on its application. PIAC is nonetheless to serve this letter and the notice described above on these attorneys general within the specified period.

As a result of the need to notify the attorney general of the constitutional question, the deadline for the filing of answers and interventions in this file shall be extended to 29 August 2016. The deadline for a reply by PIAC, should it decide to file one, shall be extended to 8 September 2016.

If you have any questions, please contact the undersigned by telephone at (613) 854-6182 or via email at adam.balkovec@crtc.gc.ca.

Yours Sincerely,

[original signed by]

Adam Balkovec
Legal Counsel

c.c.:

Laurie Ventura, CRTC laurie.ventura@crtc.gc.ca
Geoff White, PIAC gwhite@piac.ca

Distribution List

jstix@295.ca; sales@acanac.com; regulatory@distributel.ca; joel@aei.ca; jeff@auracom.com; info@axess.com; cedric.tardif@axion.ca; sbrousseau@b2b2c.ca; info@beaucesansfil.com; bell.regulatory@bell.ca; admin@bravotelecom.com; reglementa@telebec.com; sales@logix.ca; stephane.arseneau@ccap.coop; rma@cintek.com; support@citenet.net; nathalie.dorval@cogeco.com; admin@comtem.ca; ybarzakay@comwave.net; info@connectmoi.ca; gestion@coopcscf.com; pallard@cooptel.coop; support@copper.net; munther@cronomagic.com; jeanvincent.dorais@derytelecom.ca; gboily@digicom.ca; regulatory@distributel.ca; Regulatory.Matters@corp.eastlink.ca; sales1@fusion-telecom.com; dharvey@galaxybroadband.ca; regulatory@gozoom.ca; aaron@access.com; igsadmin@hawkigs.net; info@heronet.ca; info@internet-haut-richelieu.com; regulatory@icewireless.ca; angeo@innsys.ca; support@mazagantelecom.com; abmekkaoui@gmail.com; info@montreal-dsl.com; regulatory@mts.ca; michel@mustangtechno.com; techelp@mysignal.ca; borromee@navigue.com; dave@netfox.ca; bstevens@netwest.ca; help@ody.ca; davidmckeen@northwindwireless.com; Richard@ondenet.com; bilodeau.mikael@oricom.ca; Support@pioneerwireless.ca; kmithcell@primustel.ca; dennis.beland@quebecor.com; info@rig.qc.ca; David.Watt@rci.rogers.com; Jacob.Glick@rci.rogers.com; Simon-Pierre.Olivier@fidomobile.ca; sales@rutexnet.com; document.control@sasktel.com; jeanmarc@securenet.net; shannonvision@shannon.ca; regulatory@sjrb.ca; support@slamhang.com; paul.frappier@sogetel.com; creinkeluers@storm.ca; mike.manvell@switchworks.com; info@tamcotec.com; louispaul@tartgointernet.com; regulatory@teksavvy.com; reglementa@telebec.com; regulatory.affairs@telus.com; celinelaporte@maskatel.qc.ca; Mohamed-reda.khomisi@unitelecom.ca; rob@velcom.com; info@vertlavenir.info; regaffairs@quebecor.com; asoly@vif.com; max@vodalink.com; info@VybeNetworks.com; info@wime.ca; EAntecol@WindMobile.ca; pbrochu@xittel.net; Jacob.friedman@corp.xplornet.com; sales@zeuter.com; robertm@zid.com

Footnotes

Footnote 1

R.S.C. 1985, c. F-7.

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

SOR/98-106.

Return to footnote 2

Footnote 3

SOR/2010-277

Return to footnote 3

Date modified: