ARCHIVED - Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to Stephen Schmidt (TELUS Communications Company)

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Archived Decisions, Notices and Orders (DNOs) remain in effect except to the extent they are amended or reversed by the Commission, a court, or the government. The text of archived information has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Changes to DNOs are published as “dashes” to the original DNO number. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Ottawa, 11 July 2016

Our reference: 8663-C12-2015030186


Mr. Stephen Schmidt
Vice President – Telecom Policy & Chief Regulatory Legal Counsel
TELUS Communications Company
Floor 8, 215 Slater St.
Ottawa, Ontario K1P 0A6

RE: Application for final costs by the Affordable Access Coalition in Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2015-134, Review of basic telecommunications services – Request for Extension

Dear Mr. Schmidt:

The Commission is in receipt of your letter dated 5 July 2016, in which TELUS Communications Inc. (TCC) requests an extension until 21 July 2016 for the filing of an answer to the application for final costs filed by the Affordable Access Coalition (AAC) in the above-noted proceeding.

TCC submitted that it requires additional time to scrutinize the AAC’s costs application and prepare its answer because the underlying proceeding was complex, the AAC seeks considerable costs, and the costs application is lengthy.

By letter dated 6 July 2016, Bell Canada agreed that additional time is needed by potential costs respondent to properly review the costs application and file meaningful comments.

In its reply dated 6 July 2016, the AAC stated that it did not object to the requested extension.

Commission staff considers that, in light of the circumstances, it is appropriate to extend the period for the filing of answers to the AAC’s application for costs. Therefore, potential costs respondents may file answers by no later than 21 July 2016. Where a document is to be filed or served by a specific date the document must be received, not merely sent.


[original signed by]

Emilia de Somma
Legal Counsel

c.c.: Distribution List

Distribution List

Incumbent local exchange carriers

9315-1884 Québec inc. (formerly Courcelles and Lambton), 
Association des Compagnies de Téléphone du Québec, 
Amtelecom Telco GP Inc., 
Bell CanadaFootnote 1, 
Brooke Telecom Co-operative Ltd, 
Bruce Telecom, 
The Canadian Independent Telephone Company – Joint Task Force (CITC-JTF), 
CityWest Telephone Corporation, 
Cochrane Telecom Services, 
Execulink Telecom Inc., 
Groupe Maskatel LP, 
Gosfield North Communication Co-operative Limited,
Hay Communications Co-operative Limited,  
Huron Telecommunications Co-operative Limited,  
La Compagnie de téléphone de St-Victor, 
La Compagnie de téléphone Upton inc., 
Lansdowne Rural Telephone Company Ltd, 
Mornington Communications Co-operative Limited, 
MTS Inc., 
Nexicom Telecommunications Inc., 
Nexicom Telephones Inc.,  
North Frontenac Telephone Corporation Ltd, 
NRTC Communications, 
People's Tel Limited Partnership,
Quadro Communications Co-operative Inc.,
Roxborough Telephone Company Limited,
Saskatchewan Telecommunications,
Sogetel inc.,
Téléphone de St-Éphrem inc.,
Téléphone Milot Inc.,
TELUS Communications Company,
Tuckersmith Communications Co-operative Limited,
Wightman Telecom Ltd,
WTC Communications,

Other telecommunications service providers

Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc, 
Axia SuperNet Ltd./Axia Connect Ltd, 
Bragg Communications Incorporated (EastLink),
Cogeco Cable Canada LP,
Ice Wireless Inc., 
Iristel Inc., 
Québecor Média inc., 
Rogers Communications Partnership, 
Shaw Cablesystems G.P., 
SSi Micro Ltd, 
TekSavvy Solutions Inc., 
Telesat Canada, 
Wind Mobile Corp., 
Xplornet Communications Inc., 
Yak Communications (Canada) Corp., 


John Lawford, Counsel for AAC, 
Geoffrey White, Counsel for AAC, 
Union des consommateurs, 
Canadian Wireless Internet Service Providers, 
Canadian Cable Systems Alliance Inc, 
R. Layton, 
B. Klass and M. Nanni, 
F. McKelvey, 
McNally et al. 
C. Middleton, 
Cree Nation/ECN,
First Mile Connectivity Consortium, 
Canadian Hearing Society, 
Deaf Wireless Canada Committee,
Canadian Association of the Deaf-Association des Sourds du Canada (CAD-ASC), 
Media Access Canada, 
Nunavut Broadband Development Corporation, 
Alberta Association of Municipal Districts and Counties, 
All Nations Trust Company, 
Canadian Federation of Agriculture, 
Eastern Ontario Wardens Caucus and the Eastern Ontario Regional Network, 
Federation of Canadian Municipalities, 
Northwest Territories Association of Communities, 
OneWeb, Ltd., 
Open Media, 
Government of British Columbia, 
Government of Ontario, 
Government of Yukon, 
Gouvernement du Québec, 
Government of Northwest Territories,
British Columbia Broadband Association, 
Forum for Research and Policy in Communications, 
Kativik Regional Government, jdumoulin@krg.caQikiqtaaluk Corporation,
Campbell Patterson Communications, 
Manitoba Keewatinowi Okimakinak Inc., 
Vaxination Informatique, 
TCPub Media Inc.. 
F. McKelvey, 
P. Germain, 
T. Shepherd, 
Government of Nunavut, 
Northwest Territories Association of Communities, 
R. Adams
S. Lehmann, 
J. Roman, 
C. Lunau, Milton Councillor, Ward 3 (Nassagaweya), 
Chambre de commerce de la Ville de Sainte-Adèle, 
A. Lajoie, Député fédéral de Rimouski-Neigette--Témiscouata--Les Basques,
The Association of Community Organizations for Reform Now, Canada (“ACORN Canada”), 
L. Berthold, Député Mégantic--L'Érable, 
S. Frankel, Thetis Island Resident's Association, 
D. Sokolov, 
S. Lowell, 
Canadian National Institute for the Blind (CNIB) and Alliance for Equality of Blind Canadians, 
C. Coyle, 
J. Rae, 
A. Jetté, Maire - St-André d'Argenteuil, 
B. Généreux, Député de Montmagny — L'Islet — Kamouraska — Rivière-du-Loup, 
Yellow Pages Limited, 
Harewaves Wireless Inc., 
I. Phillips,
D. Graham, Députés de Laurentides--Labelle de Pontiac, 
F. Brolly, 
B. LaHaise, 
Canadian Taxpayers Federation, 
Réseau intégré de communications électroniques des Îles-de-la-Madeleine, 
National Capital FreeNet, 
Chebucto Community Net Society, 
L’organisme de Gestion de l’inforoute régionale de l’Abitibi-Témiscamingue, 
M. Gammon, 
B. Borley, 
Kootenay Boundary Broadband Committee,
La Fédération des communautés francophones et acadienne du Canada, 
A. Warolin, Préfet - MRC de Témiscamingue, 
Concordia University’s Faculty of Engineering and Computer Science, 
On Screen Manitoba, 
The Canadian Media Producers Association,


Footnote 1

Bell Canada, on its own behalf, and on behalf of its affiliates Bell Aliant Regional Communications, Limited Partnership (which effective 1 July 2015 was wound-up into Bell Canada, and is now operated as a division of Bell Canada), Bell Mobility Inc., Câblevision du Nord du Québec inc. (CVQ), DMTS, KMTS, NorthernTel, Limited Partnership, Northwestel Inc., Ontera and Télébec, Société en commandite.

Return to footnote 1

Date modified: