ARCHIVED - Telecom Commission Letter addressed to Distribution List

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Archived Decisions, Notices and Orders (DNOs) remain in effect except to the extent they are amended or reversed by the Commission, a court, or the government. The text of archived information has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Changes to DNOs are published as “dashes” to the original DNO number. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Ottawa, 28 April 2016

Our reference:  1011-NOC2016-0116



RE: Establishment of a regulatory framework for next-generation 9-1-1 in Canada, Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2016-116 – Filing information in confidence

By letter dated 29 March 2016, Commission staff requested information from incumbent local exchange carriers (ILECs), small ILECs, and public safety answering points (PSAPs).

This letter made reference to section 39 of the Telecommunication Act and Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961, Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings.

Parties are reminded that in an effort to conduct proceedings that are as transparent as possible, the responses provided should generally be disclosed on the public record.  There are, however, certain circumstances in which some information is sensitive and must be kept confidential. As set out in section 39(1) of the Telecommunications Act, the following may be designated confidential:

  1. information that is a trade secret;
  2. financial, commercial, scientific or technical information that is confidential and that is treated consistently in a confidential manner by the person who submitted it; or
  3. information the disclosure of which could reasonably be expected
    1. to result in material financial loss or gain to any person,
    2. to prejudice the competitive position of any person, or
    3. to affect contractual or other negotiations of any person.

A person designating information as confidential must provide a detailed explanation as to why the designated information is confidential and why its disclosure would not be in the public interest, including why the specific direct harm that would be likely to result from the disclosure would outweigh the public interest in disclosure.  Furthermore, a person designating information as confidential must either file an abridged version of the document omitting only the information designated as confidential or provide reasons why an abridged version cannot be filed.

Parties are also reminded that by letter dated 12 April 2016, Commission staff granted an extension to the deadline for the submission of responses to these requests for information.  Parties now have until 9 May 2016 to file their responses with the Commission.  Initial interventions related to the issues examined in Notice of Consultation 2016-116 are due 20 May 2016.

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by

Sheehan Carter
A/Director, Competition and Emergency Services Policy
Telecommunications Sector
c.c:  Renée Doiron, CRTC,,
James Ndirangu, CRTC,

Distribution List

Large ILECs
Bell Aliant Regional Communications, Limited Partnership and Télébec, Limited Partnership
Bell Canada
Saskatchewan Telecommunications
TELUS Communications Company

Small ILECs
Amtelecom Telco GP Inc.
Brooke Telecom Co-operative Ltd.
Bruce Telecom
CityWest Telephone Corporation
Cochrane Telecom Services
CoopTel, coop de telecommunication
DMTS, a division of Bell Aliant
Executlink Telecom Inc.
Gosfield North Communication Co-operative Limited
Groupe Maskatel LP
Hay Communications Co-operative Limited
Huron Telecommunications Co-operative Limited
La Cie de Téléphone de Courcelles Inc.
La Compagnie de Téléphone de Lambton Inc.
La Compagnie de téléphone de St-Victor
La Compagnie de telephone Upton Inc.
Landsdowne Rural Telephone Company Ltd.
Mornington Communications Co-operative Limited
Nexicom Telecommunications, a Division of Nexicom Inc.
Nexicom Telephones, a Division of Nexicom Inc.
North Frontenac Telephone Corporation Ltd.
North Renfrew Telephone Company Limited Trade
NorthernTel, Limited Partnership
O.N. Tel Inc.
People’s Tel Limited Partnership
Quadro Communications Co-operative Inc.
Roxborough Telephone Company Limited
Téléphone de St-Éphrem inc.
Téléphone Milot Inc.
The Westport Telephone Company, Limited
Tuckersmith Communications Co-operative Limited
Wightman Telecom Ltd.
Wightman Telecom Ltd.

Public Safety Answering Points
Abbotsford Police,
Aeromedical Emergency Services Ltd.,
Agence municipale de financement et de développement des centres d’urgence 9-1-1 du Québec
Alberta Emergency Management Agency
Bonnyville Regional Fire Authority,
Camrose Police Service,
Chatham Police,
City of Calgary, Public Safety Communications,
City of Edmonton 911 & Police,
City of Lethbridge, Public Safety Communications Centre,
City of Lloydminster 911 Centre,
City of Medicine Hat 911 Centre,
City of Red Deer Emergency Services,
DND Fire,
Durham Regional Police,
East Central 911 Call Answer Society,
E-Comm 9-1-1,
Espanola Police,
Foothills Regional Emergency Services Commission,
Gananoque Police/Fire,
Grande Prairie Fire Department,
Guelph Police,
Halton Regional Police,
Hamilton Police,
Hearst Communication Bureau,
Jasper Park 911 Centre,
Kawartha Lakes Police,
Kingston Police,
Kyetech Canada Inc.,
London Police,
Manitoba EMO,
Manitoba Provincial PSAP,
Nelson City Police,
New Brunswick 9-1-1 Bureau,
NL911 Bureau Inc.
Niagara Regional Police,
North Bay OPP,
North Bay Police,
Northern Communication Bureau,
Nova Scotia Emergency Management Office
Orangeville Police,
Orillia Fire,
Ottawa Police,
Owen Sound Police,
Parkland County Emergency Communications Centre,
Peel Regional Police,
Peterborough Police,
Prince Edward Island 9-1-1 Administration Office
Prince George RCMP,
Regional Emergency Services Fort McMurray,
Saanich Police,
Sarnia Police,
Sault Ste Marie Police,
St. Albert RCMP Detachment,
Strathcona County Emergency Services,
Strathroy Police,
Sudbury Regional Police,
Taber 9-1-1 Centre,
Thunder Bay Bureau,
Toronto Police,
Victoria Police,
Victoria RCMP,
Waterloo Regional Police,
Wheatland and District Emergency Medical Services,
Windsor Police,
Winnipeg Police Service PSAP,
Woodstock Police,
Yellowhead County Emergency Communications Centre,
York Police,
Yukon RCMP M Division Operational Communication Center,

Date modified: