Telecom Commission Letter addressed to Distribution List

Ottawa, 12 April 2016

Our reference:  1011-NOC2016-0116



RE:  Establishment of a regulatory framework for next-generation 9-1-1 in Canada, Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2016-116 - Request for extension

By letter dated 4 April 2016, Bell Canada (Bell) requested an extension to 29 May 2016 to respond to requests for information set out in a Commission staff letter dated 29 March 2016.  Bell also requested an extension to 20 June 2016 to provide initial interventions regarding Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2016-116.  Bell cited the overlap with the proceeding and oral hearing regarding the Review of basic telecommunications services, Telecom Notice of Consultation 2015-134, currently being held by the Commission as the main reason for the requested extension.

TELUS, by letter dated 5 April 2016, Sasktel, by letter dated 6 April 2016, the Toronto Police on behalf of a number of public safety answering points (PSAPs),Footnote 1 by letter dated 8 April 2016, MTS, by letter dated 8 April, and the city of Lethbridge, by letter dated 8 April 2016, expressed their support for the request made by Bell.

On 25 June 2014 the Commission published its intention to launch a proceeding to review the telecommunications regulatory framework for next-generation 9-1-1 in early 2016.Footnote 2 Commission staff therefore considers that the timing of the next-generation 9-1-1 regulatory framework proceeding has been known for a significant period of time and as such internal resources should have been assigned appropriately.

However, Commission staff recognizes the overlap between this proceeding and the oral hearing related to Telecom Notice of Consultation 2015-134 and considers that an extension to the deadlines for submission of responses to requests for information is appropriate.

Incumbent local exchange carriers (ILECs), small ILECs, and the PSAPs identified in the Commission staff letter dated 29 March 2016 will now have until 9 May 2016 to file their responses to the requests for information.  Initial interventions related to Notice of Consultation 2016-116 remain unchanged and are due 20 May 2016.

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by

Sheehan Carter
A/Director, Competition and Emergency Services Policy
Telecommunications Sector
c.c:  Renée Doiron, CRTC,,
James Ndirangu, CRTC,

Distribution List

Large ILECs
Bell Aliant Regional Communications, Limited Partnership and Télébec, Limited Partnership
Bell Canada
Saskatchewan Telecommunications
TELUS Communications Company

Small ILECs
Amtelecom Telco GP Inc.
Brooke Telecom Co-operative Ltd.
Bruce Telecom
CityWest Telephone Corporation
Cochrane Telecom Services
CoopTel, coop de telecommunication
DMTS, a division of Bell Aliant
Executlink Telecom Inc.
Gosfield North Communication Co-operative Limited
Groupe Maskatel LP
Hay Communications Co-operative Limited
Huron Telecommunications Co-operative Limited
La Cie de Téléphone de Courcelles Inc.
La Compagnie de Téléphone de Lambton Inc.
La Compagnie de téléphone de St-Victor
La Compagnie de telephone Upton Inc.
Landsdowne Rural Telephone Company Ltd.
Mornington Communications Co-operative Limited
Nexicom Telecommunications, a Division of Nexicom Inc.
Nexicom Telephones, a Division of Nexicom Inc.
North Frontenac Telephone Corporation Ltd.
North Renfrew Telephone Company Limited Trade
NorthernTel, Limited Partnership
O.N. Tel Inc.
People’s Tel Limited Partnership
Quadro Communications Co-operative Inc.
Roxborough Telephone Company Limited
Téléphone de St-Éphrem inc.
Téléphone Milot Inc.
The Westport Telephone Company, Limited
Tuckersmith Communications Co-operative Limited
Wightman Telecom Ltd.
Wightman Telecom Ltd.

Public Safety Answering Points
Abbotsford Police,
Aeromedical Emergency Services Ltd.,
Agence municipale de financement et de développement des centres d’urgence 9-1-1 du Québec
Alberta Emergency Management Agency
Bonnyville Regional Fire Authority,
Camrose Police Service,
Chatham Police,
City of Calgary, Public Safety Communications,
City of Edmonton 911 & Police,
City of Lethbridge, Public Safety Communications Centre,
City of Lloydminster 911 Centre,
City of Medicine Hat 911 Centre,
City of Red Deer Emergency Services,
DND Fire,
Durham Regional Police,
East Central 911 Call Answer Society,
E-Comm 9-1-1,
Espanola Police,
Foothills Regional Emergency Services Commission,
Gananoque Police/Fire,
Grande Prairie Fire Department,
Guelph Police,
Halton Regional Police,
Hamilton Police,
Hearst Communication Bureau,
Jasper Park 911 Centre,
Kawartha Lakes Police,
Kingston Police,
Kyetech Canada Inc.,
London Police,
Manitoba EMO,
Manitoba Provincial PSAP,
Nelson City Police,
New Brunswick 9-1-1 Bureau,
NL911 Bureau Inc.
Niagara Regional Police,
North Bay OPP,
North Bay Police,
Northern Communication Bureau,
Nova Scotia Emergency Management Office
Orangeville Police,
Orillia Fire,
Ottawa Police,
Owen Sound Police,
Parkland County Emergency Communications Centre,
Peel Regional Police,
Peterborough Police,
Prince Edward Island 9-1-1 Administration Office
Prince George RCMP,
Regional Emergency Services Fort McMurray,
Saanich Police,
Sarnia Police,
Sault Ste Marie Police,
St. Albert RCMP Detachment,
Strathcona County Emergency Services,
Strathroy Police,
Sudbury Regional Police,
Taber 9-1-1 Centre,
Thunder Bay Bureau,
Toronto Police,
Victoria Police,
Victoria RCMP,
Waterloo Regional Police,
Wheatland and District Emergency Medical Services,
Windsor Police,
Winnipeg Police Service PSAP,
Woodstock Police,
Yellowhead County Emergency Communications Centre,
York Police,
Yukon RCMP M Division Operational Communication Center,


Footnote 1

Agence municipal 911 Québec, OPTIC, City of Calgary, Saskatoon Police, E Division RCMP OCC Program, Thunder Bay Police Service, Association des Centres d’Urgence du Québec, York Regional Police Service, Kingston Police Service, Saskatoon Police Service, Ontario Provincial Police, Durham Regional Police Service, Alberta E9-1-1 Advisory Association, PEI Justice & Public Safety, Halton Regional Police, Government of Saskatchewan Emergency Management and Fire Safety, Peel Regional Police Service, City of Calgary, Chatham-Kent Police Service, MOHLTC, New Brunswick 911 Bureau, Guelph Police Service, Windsor Police Service, City of Brandon, Winnipeg Police Service.

Return to footnote 1


Footnote 2

See 9-1-1 Action Plan, Telecom Regulatory Policy 2014-342, 25 June 2014 (paragraph 20).

Return to footnote 2

Date modified: