ARCHIVED - Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Scott Mitchell (Cochrane Telecom Services)

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Archived Decisions, Notices and Orders (DNOs) remain in effect except to the extent they are amended or reversed by the Commission, a court, or the government. The text of archived information has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Changes to DNOs are published as “dashes” to the original DNO number. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Ottawa, 22 January 2016

Our reference: 8640-C1-201510826


Mr. Scott Mitchell
General Manager
Cochrane Telecom Services
153 Sixth Avenue
P.O. Box 640
Cochrane, ON K1A 0N2

Re: Cochrane Telecom Services – Request for forbearance from the regulation of business local exchange services

Dear Sir:

On 14 January 2016, the Commission received a letter from Cochrane Telecom Services (Cochrane), in which the company confirmed that local competition had been implemented for Eastlink on 3 December 2015. This letter was filed in response to staff’s letter dated 2 November 2015 requesting that Cochrane submit this information in order to complete the application.

In accordance with staff’s letter dated 2 November 2015, Eastlink and other interested persons can file their responses and interventions by 29 January 2016. Eastlink is expected to provide the information set out in the relevant Appendix to Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2009-379, if applicable.

Cochrane may file a reply to the submissions received by 8 February 2016.

Staff notes that the application had been suspended and labelled as “closed” on the Commission’s website.

The process will be reopened shortly in order to allow parties to file their submissions in accordance with the above-noted timelines.


Original signed by

Kay Saicheua
Director, Competition & Emergency Services Policy
Telecommunications Sector
c.c.: Denise Heckbert, Eastlink,
Bell Canada,
Rogers Communications,
TELUS Communications Company,
Eric Macfarlane, Analyst, CRTC,

Date modified: