ARCHIVED - Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to distribution list

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Archived Decisions, Notices and Orders (DNOs) remain in effect except to the extent they are amended or reversed by the Commission, a court, or the government. The text of archived information has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Changes to DNOs are published as “dashes” to the original DNO number. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Ottawa, 18 August 2015

Our reference:  8663-C12-201503186



Re:  Review of basic telecommunications services, Telecom Notice of Consultation 2015-134Footnote 1 – Request for disclosure of aggregated information

Dear Madam, Sir:

On 12 August 2015, the Commission received a request from the Affordable Access Coalition (AAC)Footnote 2 to disclose certain information being used in the proceeding initiated by Telecom Notice of Consultation 2015-134.

Specifically, AAC requested that the Commission disclose, on the record of this proceeding, aggregated information provided by telecommunications service providers regarding Internet services and number of households served. This information was provided in response to the Commission’s staff letter dated 7 May 2015.Footnote 3

Parties may file comments, if any, by 25 August 2015 regarding AAC’s request.  Please note that documents must be received, not merely sent, by the specified date.

Any information that will be disclosed as a result of this request will be released as soon as possible.


Original signed by

John Macri
Director, Policy Framework
Telecommunications Sector
c.c.:  Christine Bailey, CRTC, (819) 997-4557,
Sylvie Beaudoin, CRTC, (819) 953-9970,

Distribution List

John Lawford, Counsel for AAC,
Geoffrey White, Counsel for AAC,
Union des consommateurs,

Bell Canada,
MTS Inc.,
Saskatchewan Telecommunications,
Télébec, Société en commandite,
TELUS Communications Company,
Northwestel Inc.,

The Canadian Independent Telephone Company – Joint Task Force (CITC-JTF),
Amtelecom Telco GP Inc.,
Brooke Telecom Co-operative Ltd,
Bruce Telecom,
CityWest Telephone Corporation,
Cochrane Telecom Services,
Execulink Telecom Inc.,
Groupe Maskatel LP,
Gosfield North Communication Co-operative Limited,
Hay Communications Co-operative Limited,
Huron Telecommunications Co-operative Limited,
Independent Telecommunications Providers Association,
La Cie de Téléphone de Courcelles Inc.,
La Compagnie de Téléphone de Lambton Inc.,
La Compagnie de téléphone de St-Victor,
La Compagnie de téléphone Upton inc.,
Lansdowne Rural Telephone Company Ltd,
Mornington Communications Co-operative Limited,
Nexicom Telecommunications Inc.,
Nexicom Telephones Inc.,
North Frontenac Telephone Corporation Ltd,
NorthernTel, Limited Partnership,
NRTC Communications,
People's Tel Limited Partnership,
Quadro Communications Co-operative Inc.,
Roxborough Telephone Company Limited,
Sogetel inc.,
Téléphone de St-Éphrem inc.,
Téléphone Milot Inc.,
Tuckersmith Communications Co-operative Limited,
Wightman Telecom Ltd,
WTC Communications,

Other TSPs
Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc,
Access Communications Co-operative Limited,
Axia SuperNet Ltd./Axia Connect Ltd,
Bell Mobility Inc.,
BC Hydro and Power Authority,
Bragg Communications Incorporated (EastLink),
Broadband Communications North Inc.,
CityWest Mobility Corp.,
Cogeco Cable Canada LP,
Comwave Networks Inc.,
Distributel Communications Limited,
Fibernetics Corporation,
Hydro One Telecom Inc.,
Ice Wireless Inc.,
Infosat Communications LP,
Iristel Inc.,
Latitude Wireless,
Les Réseaux de l'Alliance Inc.,
Lynx Mobility Inc.,
Managed Network Systems Inc.,
Manitoba Hydro International Limited,
Niagara Regional Broadband Network Limited,
Novus Entertainment Inc.,
Primus Telecommunications Canada Inc.,
Public Mobile Inc.,
Québecor Média inc.,
Rogers Communications Partnership,
Seaside Communications Inc.,
Shaw Cablesystems G.P.,
Source Cable Limited,
SSI Micro Ltd,
TekSavvy Solutions Inc.,
Télécommunications Xittel Inc.,
Telesat Canada,
Telupton 2000 Inc.,
TeraGo Networks Inc,
Wind Mobile Corp.,
Xplornet Communications Inc.,
Yak Communications (Canada) Corp.,


Footnote 1

Review of basic telecommunications services, Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2015-134, 9 April 2015, as amended by Telecom Notice of Consultation 2015-134-1, 3 June 2015.

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

The Affordable Access Coalition includes: The Association of Community Organizations for Reform Now, Canada (ACORN Canada); the Consumers’ Association of Canada (CAC); the Council of Senior Citizens Organizations of British Columbia (COSCO); the National Pensioners Federation (NPF); and the Public Interest Advocacy Centre (PIAC).

Return to footnote 2

Footnote 3

Request for information ____(CRTC)7May15-8.

Return to footnote 3

Date modified: