ARCHIVED -  Letter

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Archived Decisions, Notices and Orders (DNOs) remain in effect except to the extent they are amended or reversed by the Commission, a court, or the government. The text of archived information has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Changes to DNOs are published as “dashes” to the original DNO number. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Ottawa, 3 December 2013

File No.: 8622-B92-201316646


Geoffrey White
Counsel for PIAC
Public Interest Advocacy Centre
1 Nicholas Street, Suite 1204
Ottawa, Ontario K1N 7B7

Jean-Francois Leger
Counsel for PIAC
Public Interest Advocacy Centre
1 Nicholas Street, Suite 1204
Ottawa, Ontario K1N 7B7

Re: Part 1 application requesting fair treatment of Internet services by Bell Mobility

Dear Sirs:

The Commission received a letter from the Public Interest Advocacy Centre (PIAC) dated 22 November 2013 in regard to the above-noted application. PIAC proposed that the Commission suspend the above-noted Part 1 application and make all wireless service providers party to the proceeding.

The Commission received a letter from TELUS Communications Company (TCC) dated 28 November 2013. TCC indicated that it did not support PIAC’s proposal.

The process for this application will not be modified at this time. In accordance with Part 1 of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Rules of Practice and Procedure, interventions to the Part 1 application may be filed until 9 January 2014. Mr. Klass, the applicant, will have the opportunity to file reply comments by 20 January 2014.

Once the comments and reply comments have been received, the Commission will notify parties if it determines that additional process is required.

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by John Macri for/

Chris Seidl
Executive Director
Telecommunications Directorate

c.c.: Nora Froese, CRTC,
Julie Boisvert, CRTC,
Benjamin Klass (
Bell (
Bell Aliant (
Rogers (
SaskTel (
MTS Allstream (
Eastlink (
Tbaytel (
Independent Telephone Providers Association (
Videotron (
Globalive Wireless Management Corp. (
Public Mobile Inc. (
Data & Audio Visual Enterprises Wireless Inc. (
Canadian Network Operators Consortium (
Canadian Cable Systems Alliance (
Cogeco Cable (
Shaw Cable (

Date modified: