ARCHIVED -  Letter

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Archived Decisions, Notices and Orders (DNOs) remain in effect except to the extent they are amended or reversed by the Commission, a court, or the government. The text of archived information has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Changes to DNOs are published as “dashes” to the original DNO number. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Ottawa, March 1, 2013

File No.: 8640-N1-201303510

Dallas Yeulett
Senior Manager, Regulatory Compliance
Northwestel Inc.
P.O. Box 2727
Whitehorse, YT Y1A 4Y4

RE: Northwestel Inc. - Application requesting forbearance from Wide Area Network (WAN) services provisioned using satellite facilities

Dear Mr. Yeulett:

The Commission has received an application from Northwestel Inc. (Northwestel), dated 14 February 2013, requesting that the Commission forbear from exercising all of its powers and duties under sections 24, 25, 27, 29 and 31 of the Telecommunications Act for Wide Area Network (WAN) services provisioned using satellite facilities (Satellite WAN services) in Northwestel's operating territory.

Commission staff notes that the issue of forbearance for Satellite WAN services provided by Northwestel was addressed in Telecom Decision CRTC 2012-644. Commission staff considers that the issues raised by Northwestel in its application constitute a review and vary of Telecom Decision CRTC 2012-644.

If the company wishes the Commission to examine the company’s forbearance request regarding Satellite WAN services, Northwestel is to re-file the application, copying parties to Telecom Decision CRTC 2012-644, and address the criteria applied by the Commission to assess review and vary applications.

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by:

Chris Seidl
Executive Director, Telecommunications

cc: William Lloyd, CRTC, (819) 997-4654,
Parties to Telecom Decision CRTC 2012-644DISTRIBUTION:


Bell Aliant Regional Communications,
Limited Partnership and Bell Canada,
the Government of the Northwest Territories,
Saskatchewan Telecommunications (SaskTel),
SSi Micro Ltd. (SSi Micro),
TELUS Communications Company,
the Utilities Consumers’ Group,
the Yukon Government,
Crosscurrent Associates
Cold Mountain Computing,
Artless Media,
Hovat Construction (1985) Ltd.,
NDP Official Opposition Caucus,
SimplyIP Inc.,
City of Yellowknife,

Date modified: