ARCHIVED -  Letter

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Archived Decisions, Notices and Orders (DNOs) remain in effect except to the extent they are amended or reversed by the Commission, a court, or the government. The text of archived information has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Changes to DNOs are published as “dashes” to the original DNO number. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Ottawa, 13 January 2012

Our Ref. No.: 8680-A5-201116830


Serge Désy
President and CEO
Association des Compagnies de Téléphone du Québec
2750 Chemin Vallée
Saint-Alexis-des-Monts, Quebec  J0K 1V0

Jonathan Holmes
Executive Director
Ontario Telecommunications Association
29 Peevers Cres.
Newmarket, Ontario
L3Y 7T5

Re: Application by the Association des Compagnies de Téléphone du Québec inc. (ACTQ) and the Ontario Telecommunications Association (OTA) to stay certain portions of Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2011-291 and to defer other proceedings

Dear Mr. Désy and Mr. Holmes,

The Commission received a joint submission by the ACTQ and the OTA (collectively, ACTQ/OTA), dated 23 December 2011,1 on behalf of 30 small incumbent local exchange carriers (small ILECs),2 requesting that the Commission stay, on an urgent and expedited basis, the implementation of certain Commission determinations and directives contained in Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2011-291 (TRP 2011-291).3 ACTQ/OTA indicated that they requested the stay in light of their intent to submit an application to the Governor in Council, pursuant to section 12 of the Telecommunications Act, to vary TRP 2011-291.

In addition, ACTQ/OTA requested that the Commission defer the process currently in place for Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2011-348 (TNC 2011-348),4 as well as the issuance of all pending decisions with respect to the implementation of local competition in the small ILECs’ territories in Quebec and Ontario, until the Governor in Council completes its review.

The Commission notes that the ACTQ/OTA’s requests are predicated on their intent to file a petition to the Governor in Council. The Commission considers that it would be inappropriate to render a decision on these requests in the absence of such a petition. As such, the Commission finds that the ACTQ/OTA’s requests are premature and is hereby returning the stay application with this letter.

In light of the above, the Commission notes that all matters that were the subject of the stay application will move forward in accordance with existing timelines.


Original signed by

John Traversy
Secretary General

Distribution list

Parties, Obligation to Serve and Other Matters, Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2010-43, 28 January 2010 (as amended):;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;; ;;; ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;; ;; ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;; ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;; ;;;;;;;;


ACTQ member companies


La Compagnie de Téléphone de Courcelles inc.
La Compagnie de Téléphone de Lambton inc.
La Compagnie de Téléphone de St- Victor
La Compagnie de Téléphone Upton inc.
Le Téléphone de St- Ephrem inc.
Sogetel inc.
Téléphone Guèvremont inc.
Téléphone Milot inc.

OTA member companies

Brooke Telecom Co-operative Limited
Bruce Telecom
Cochrane Telecom Services
Dryden Municipal Telephone System
Execulink Telecom Inc.
Gosfield North Communications Co-operative Limited
Hay Communications Co-operative Limited
Huron Telecommunications Co-operative Limited
The Lansdowne Rural Telephone Company Limited
Mornington Communications Co-operative Limited
Nexicom Telecommunications Inc.
Nexicom Telephones Inc.
North Frontenac Telephone Corporation Limited
North Renfrew Telephone Company Limited
Quadro Communications Co-operative Inc.
Roxborough Telephone Company Limited
Tuckersmith Communications Co-operative Limited
Westport Telephone Company Limited
Wightman Telecom Limited

[1] Pursuant to the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure, SOR/2010-277 regarding the timing of applications submitted during the period beginning on 21 December in one year and ending on 7 January in the following year, the posted date for the ACTQ/OTA’s application is 8 January 2012.

[2] See the appendix to this letter for a list of these companies.

[3] Obligation to serve and other matters, Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2011-291, 3 May 2011, as amended by Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2011-291-1, 12 May 2011

[4] Review of regulatory framework for the small incumbent local exchange carriers and related matters, Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2011-348, 26 May 2011, as amended by Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2011-348-1, 5 July 2011; Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2011-348-2, 28 November 2011; and Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2011-348-3, 21 December 2011

Date modified: