This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Archived Decisions, Notices and Orders (DNOs) remain in effect except to the extent they are amended or reversed by the Commission, a court, or the government. The text of archived information has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Changes to DNOs are published as “dashes” to the original DNO number. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Ottawa, 12 October 2011

File numbers:


Distribution list

Re:  Local competition in small ILEC territories - Request for disclosure of information filed under claim of confidence

Dear Sir or Madam:

This is further to a letter from Commission staff on 5 October 2011 requesting the disclosure of information as part of requests for implementation of local competition in small incumbent local exchange carrier (ILEC) territories.

In the letter, Commission staff requested that each small ILEC disclose, among other things, the following information:

Total recurring and non-recurring costs of number portability, as well as total recurring and non-recurring costs of implementing local competition provided in response to requests for information by the Commission on 26 July 2011.

The Commission received responses from the small ILECs on 7 October 2011.  Though the small ILECs submitted two total costs, i.e. total start-up costs and total recurrent costs, Commission staff wishes to clarify that in its letter of 5 October 2011, it asked the eight small ILECs to submit the following costs to the public record, with copies to Cogeco Cable Inc. And to the TELUS Communications Company:

1.  Total recurring costs of number portability.
2.  Total non-recurring costs of number portability.
3.  Total recurring costs of implementing local competition. 
4.  Total non-recurring costs of implementing local competition. 

The parties involved are required to submit this information by 13 October 2011.

All documents must comply with the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure, SOR/2010-277.

Please do not use an access key for a single submission linking to more than one file.  A separate submission is required for each file number.  In addition, please refrain from using accents in file names.

Documents must be received, not just sent, by the required date.


Original signed by S. Bédard

Suzanne Bédard
Senior Manager, Tariffs

cc.:  Serge Désy, ACTQ
Roger Choquette, Designated representative and consultant
Ted Woodhead, TCC;
Michel Messier, Cogeco
Eric Edora, TCC
Laurie Ventura, CRTC 819-997-4589
Danny Moreau, CRTC 819-953-5672

Distribution list

Louise Bégin, Téléphone Milot inc.
Louise Bégin, Sogetel inc.
Pierre Allard, CoopTel
Jean-François Mathieu, La Compagnie de Téléphone Upton Inc.
Guy Cordeau, Téléphone Guèvremont inc.
Raymonde Lapierre, La Compagnie de Téléphone de Lambton Inc.
Michel Couture, Téléphone de St-Éphrem inc.
Jean Bélanger, La Compagnie de Téléphone de Saint-Victor

Date modified: