This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Archived Decisions, Notices and Orders (DNOs) remain in effect except to the extent they are amended or reversed by the Commission, a court, or the government. The text of archived information has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Changes to DNOs are published as “dashes” to the original DNO number. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Our file No.: 8662-A5-201110270

Ottawa, 11 July 2011

Serge Désy
President and CEO
Association des Compagnies de Téléphone du Québec
2750 Chemin Vallée
Saint-Alexis-des-Monts, Quebec
J0K 1V0

Jonathan Holmes
Executive Director
Ontario Telecommunications Association
29 Peevers Cres.
Newmarket, Ontario
L3Y 7T5

Re: Application by l’Association des Compagnies de Téléphone du Québec inc. (ACTQ), the Ontario Telecommunications Association (OTA), and CityWest Telephone Corporation (CityWest) to review and vary Telecom Regulatory Policy 2011-291

Dear Mr. Désy and Mr. Holmes,

The Commission received a joint submission by the ACTQ, the OTA, and CityWest (collectively, ACTQ/OTA/CityWest), dated 6 July 2011, on behalf of 30 small incumbent local exchange carriers (small ILECs), requesting that the Commission review and vary certain portions of Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2011-291 (TRP 2011-291).

At paragraph 24 of the submission, ACTQ/OTA/CityWest expressed the view that the Commission’s direction, in a letter dated 5 July 2011, to suspend Telecom Notice

of Consultation 2011-348 (TNC 2011-348) included “a deferral of any discussion of both the level of the 2011 small ILEC subsidy and any related rate rebalancing initiatives for the year 2011 that would be imputed as reductions of the 2011 small ILEC subsidy amount.”

Commission staff notes that, while the Commission letter of 5 July 2011 suspended the process for TNC 2011-348, it did not suspend the implementation of any determinations found in TRP 2011-291. Commission staff also notes that issues pertaining to imputed rate increases, pursuant to paragraph 122 of TRP 2011-291, did not form part of the original stay application submitted by the ACTQ and the OTA.

Accordingly, the Commission will continue to implement the determinations found in paragraph 122 of TRP 2011-291, for both large and small ILECs, in order to impute the appropriate rate increases. These increases are to take effect no later than 1 August 2011, with subsidy calculations adjusted accordingly.


Original signed by:

John Traversy
Executive Director

c.c. Parties to Telecom Notice of Consultation 2010-43




ACTQ member companies
La Compagnie de Téléphone de Courcelles inc.
La Compagnie de Téléphone de Lambton inc.
La Compagnie de Téléphone de St- Victor
La Compagnie de Téléphone Upton inc.
Le Téléphone de St- Ephrem inc.
Sogetel inc.
Téléphone Guèvremont inc.
Téléphone Milot inc.

OTA member companies
Brooke Telecom Co-operative Limited
Bruce Telecom
Cochrane Telecom Services
Dryden Municipal Telephone System
Execulink Telecom Inc.
Gosfield North Communications Co-operative Limited
Hay Communications Co-operative Limited
Huron Telecommunications Co-operative Limited
The Lansdowne Rural Telephone Company Limited
Mornington Communications Co-operative Limited
Nexicom Telecommunications Inc.
Nexicom Telephones Inc.
North Frontenac Telephone Corporation Limited
North Renfrew Telephone Company Limited
Quadro Communications Co-operative Inc.
Roxborough Telephone Company Limited
Tuckersmith Communications Co-operative Limited
Westport Telephone Company Limited
Wightman Telecom Limited


See the appendix to this letter for a list of those companies.

Obligation to serve and other matters, Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2011-291, 3 May 2011, as amended by Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2011-291-1, 12 May 2011

Pursuant to a Commission letter dated 5 July 2011and Review of regulatory framework for the small incumbent local exchange carriers and related matters, Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2011-348-1, 5 July 2011


Date modified: