This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Archived Decisions, Notices and Orders (DNOs) remain in effect except to the extent they are amended or reversed by the Commission, a court, or the government. The text of archived information has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Changes to DNOs are published as “dashes” to the original DNO number. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Ottawa, 14 June 2011

Our reference: 8663-W36-200910225


Mr. Tom Sullivan
Vice President & General Manager
Wightman Telecom Ltd.
100 Elora Street N. Box 70
Clifford, Ontario
N0G 1M0

Re: Local competition in small ILEC territories

Dear Sir:

In a Commission staff letter dated 25 May 2011, Wightman Telecom Ltd. (Wightman) was notified that it must file a local competition implementation plan in response to a letter of confirmation from Bragg Communications Inc., carrying on business as EastLink (EastLink).

Commission staff wishes to clarify wording in the final paragraph of the letter as follows (new text in bold):

Wightman is to ensure that its implementation plan addresses its proposed interconnection arrangements with EastLink and includes any other requirements needed to implement local competition in its territory for EastLink.  Commission staff reminds Wightman that it should begin discussion with EastLink about its requirements as soon as possible.

This clarification also applies to the Commission staff letters sent to Bruce Telecom, Mornington Communications Co-operative Limited, and Tuckersmith Communications Co-operative Limited, dated 25 May 2011; and to Hay Communications Co-Operative Limited, dated 26 May 2011.

Commission staff apologizes for any confusion this omission may have caused.


‘Original signed by N. Webster Cole’ (for)

Suzanne Bédard
Senior Manger, Tariffs

cc: Eric Dobson, Bruce Telecom,
Angela Schneider, Hay Communications Co-Operative Limited
Richard Banks, Mornington Communications Co-operative Limited,
Robert Van Aaken, Tuckersmith Communications Co-operative Limited,
Natalie MacDonald, EastLink,
Laurie Ventura, CRTC, (819) 997-4589,
Date modified: