This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Archived Decisions, Notices and Orders (DNOs) remain in effect except to the extent they are amended or reversed by the Commission, a court, or the government. The text of archived information has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Changes to DNOs are published as “dashes” to the original DNO number. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Ottawa, 10 June 2011

File Nos.: 8663-B7-200905052


TO: Distribution List (attached)

Re: Request for extension to file local competition or wireless number portability implementation plans

Dear Madam or Sir:

In a Commission letter dated 5 May 2011, competitors that had previously expressed interest in providing local service or had requested the implementation of wireless number portability (WNP) in one or more of the small incumbent local exchange carriers’ (ILECs) territories were requested to indicate by 20 May 2011 whether or not they were still interested in expanding their operations to offer local service or obtaining WNP in those small ILEC’s territories.

In letters dated 20 May 2011, Bragg Communications Inc., carrying on business as EastLink (EastLink), confirmed its interest in entering the territories of Bruce Telecom (Bruce), Mornington Communications Co-op Ltd. (Mornington), Tuckersmith Communications Co-operative Ltd. (Tuckersmith), Wightman Telecom Ltd. (Wightman), and Hay Communications (Hay) as a competitive local exchange carrier; and Rogers Communications (Rogers), on behalf of Rogers Wireless operating as a wireless service provider, confirmed its interest in competing in the territories of Amtelecom Telco GP Inc., Bruce, and CityWest Telephone Corporation.

The Commission subsequently issued letters to the small ILECs in question, requesting them to file implementation plans within 30 days.

The Commission has since received requests for extensions to the dates for filing implementation plans from Bruce, Hay, Mornington, Tuckersmith, and Wightman.  The requested extension dates range from 31 October 2011 to 15 December 2011, which represents an additional four to five and a half months to file the plans.

EastLink requested that the Commission deny the requests by Bruce, Tuckersmith, and Wightman, but indicated that it would be reasonable to provide Hay with a short extension to 31 July 2011.  Rogers submitted that the Commission should deny Bruce’s request for a five-month extension.  However, Rogers submitted that even if Bruce were able to present an argument for delay, the 30-day requirement for filing should not be extended beyond 60 days.

Commission staff acknowledges that the small ILECs in question may have limited resources and that it could be challenging for them to complete their plans within the required 30-day period.  However, staff notes that EastLink and Rogers first notified the small ILECs of their intention to compete between two and two and a half years ago, and the small ILECs in question had the opportunity to understand the competitors’ requirements at that time.

On balance, Commission staff considers that it would be appropriate to extend the deadlines for Bruce, Mornington, Tuckersmith, Wightman, and Hay to file the required implementation plans by an additional 30 days, beyond the initial 30-day deadline provided to each of these companies.  Commission staff has no intention of granting additional extensions.

Yours sincerely,

‘Original signed by L. Fancy’

Lynne Fancy
Director General, Competition, Costing and Tariffs

cc: Suzanne Bédard, CRTC (819) 994-6134,
Laurie Ventura, CRTC (819) 997-4589,


Distribution List

Eric Dobson, President & CEO, Bruce Telecom
Angela Schneider, General Manager, Hay Communications Co-operative Limited
Richard Banks, General Manager, Mornington Communications Co-operative Limited
Robert Van Aaken, General Manager, Tuckersmith Communications Co-operative Ltd.
Tom Sullivan, Vice President & General Manager, WightmanTelecom Ltd.;
Natalie MacDonald, Vice President, Regulatory, EastLink
Simon-Pierre Olivier, Director – Regulatory Affairs, Rogers Communications

Date modified: