This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Archived Decisions, Notices and Orders (DNOs) remain in effect except to the extent they are amended or reversed by the Commission, a court, or the government. The text of archived information has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Changes to DNOs are published as “dashes” to the original DNO number. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Ottawa, 13 January 2010

Our reference No.: 8662-O2-200917247


Mr. Jonathan L. Holmes
Executive Director
Ontario Telecommunications Association
29 Peevers Crescent
Newmarket, Ontario  L3Y 7T5

Dear Mr. Holmes,

Re: Part VII application to Review and Vary Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2009-379

On 22 December 2009, the Commission received the above-mentioned Part VII application by the Ontario Telecommunications Association (OTA), pursuant to the Guidelines for review and vary applications, Telecom Public Notice CRTC 98-6.

As indicated in Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2009-788, Regulatory framework for the small incumbent local exchange carriers the Commission indicated that it will initiate in January 2010 a proceeding to review matters related to the obligation to serve, the basic service objective, and the local service subsidy regime, as well as the implementation of local competition in the small incumbent local exchange carriers’ territories.  In light of this proceeding, Commission staff is of the view that it would not be appropriate at this time to consider OTA’s Part VII application dated 22 December 2009.  Therefore, OTA’s application will be put in abeyance until a decision is issued in the proceeding to be initiated by the Commission in January 2010.

Yours sincerely,

Mario Bertrand
Director, Competition Implementation and Technology

cc: See attached list. sachuter@tcc.on.capwightman@wightman.cajpatry@telcourcelles.qc.canantel@tellambton.nettelvic@telvic.netj-fmathieu@telupton.qc.carroy@telwarwick.qc.caalain.duhaime@sogetel.comgcordeau@maskatel.qc.capaul.frappier@telmilot.comtelstep@telstep.netmlaurent@cooptel.qc.calisa.marogna@cwct.cay

Date modified: