ARCHIVED - Broadcasting Decision CRTC 2010-894

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Archived Decisions, Notices and Orders (DNOs) remain in effect except to the extent they are amended or reversed by the Commission, a court, or the government. The text of archived information has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Changes to DNOs are published as “dashes” to the original DNO number. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

PDF version

Additional reference: 2010-820

Ottawa, 30 November 2010

Shaw Cablesystems Limited
Sault Ste. Marie and Thunder Bay, Ontario

Application 2010-1656-9, received 9 November 2010

Terrestrial broadcasting distribution undertakings serving Sault Ste. Marie and Thunder Bay – Licence amendment

1.         The Commission approves the application by Shaw Communications Inc., on behalf of Shaw Cablesystems Limited (Shaw), to amend the broadcasting licences for its terrestrial broadcasting distribution undertakings (BDUs) serving Sault Ste. Marie and Thunder Bay, Ontario, by extending, until 31 December 2011, the authority originally granted in Broadcasting Decision 2009-488 relating to the distribution of high definition (HD) U.S. 4+1 signals[1] originating in Seattle, Washington, in lieu of HD U.S. 4+1 signals originating in Spokane, Washington. The amended condition of licence shall read as follows (amendment in bold):

Until 31 December 2011, the licensee is authorized to distribute, on a digital discretionary basis, the signals of KIRO-TV (CBS), KING-TV (NBC) and KOMO-TV (ABC) Seattle, KCPQ (FOX) Tacoma and KCTS (PBS) Seattle, Washington, as an alternative to the set of Spokane U.S. 4+1 signals distributed on a digital discretionary basis, provided that:

2.         In Broadcasting Decision 2010-820, the Commission renewed the broadcasting licences for various Class 1 terrestrial BDUs operated by Shaw in western Canada. In that decision, the Commission extended, until 31 December 2011, the authorization to distribute alternate sets of U.S. 4+1 signals originally granted in Broadcasting Decision 2009-488.

3.         The Commission also noted, among other things, that it considered it appropriate that Shaw be authorized to distribute only upgraded versions of those U.S. 4+1 signals that it is authorized to distribute on the basic service (first set of U.S. 4+1 signals) and on a digital discretionary basis (second set of U.S. 4+1 signals). Further, it considered it appropriate to give Shaw the option of providing the basic or digital discretionary service signals and the upgraded version of the service from either Seattle or Spokane for those BDUs in western Canada that had been granted the authorization in Broadcasting Decision 2009-488.

4.        With respect to the BDUs serving Sault Ste. Marie and Thunder Bay, which did not form part of the licence renewal, the Commission directed Shaw to file an application within five days of the issuance date of Broadcasting Decision 2010-820 should it also wish to extend its authorization to 31 December 2011 so as to allow sufficient time to make the necessary changes to either all Spokane or all Seattle signals.

5.        Consistent with Broadcasting Decision 2010-820, Shaw must advise the Commission within 30 days from the date of this decision as to which set of signals (Seattle or Spokane) it will distribute in Sault Ste. Marie and Thunder Bay. In addition, Shaw must also advise the Commission in writing when the signal change is completed. The above-noted condition of licence, as it applies to both undertakings, will also be considered deleted once the Commission has been advised that this change has been made.

Secretary General

Related documents

*This decision is to be appended to each licence.


[1] This refers to the set of signals that provide the programming of the four U.S. commercial networks (CBS, NBC, ABC, FOX) and the non-commercial PBS network.

Date modified: