ARCHIVED - Telecom Commission Letter - 8000-C12-24/02

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Archived Decisions, Notices and Orders (DNOs) remain in effect except to the extent they are amended or reversed by the Commission, a court, or the government. The text of archived information has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Changes to DNOs are published as “dashes” to the original DNO number. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.


Ottawa, 13 November 2007

N/Ref : 8000-C12-24/02

Franklin Delaney
735 Chemin Principal, Suite 204
Cap-aux-Meules, Quebec  
G4T 1G8


Subject:   Requirements of a Telecommunications Service Supplier under the Telecommunications Act

Dear Mr. Delaney,

The Réseau Intégré de communications électroniques des Iles-de-la-Madeleine (RICEIM) is an undertaking registered with the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) as a non-dominant carrier.

Under section 29 of the Telecommunications Act (the Act), the Commission must approve "any agreement or arrangement, whether oral or written, with another telecommunications common carrier respecting

a)   the interchange of telecommunications by means of their telecommunications facilities;

b)   the management or operation of either or both of their facilities or any other    facilities with which either or both are connected; or

c)   the apportionment of rates or revenues between the carriers."

To this end, we ask that you submit to the Commission for approval, within thirty days, all agreements or arrangements concluded between RECEIM and other undertakings that involve the aforementioned services pursuant to section 29 of the Act .

For all further information regarding this directive, feel free to contact Lizette Pépin at 819-957-8735.


Original signed by

Paul Godin
Executive Director

cc :  Joël Arseneau, President
cc :  Lizette Pépin, CRTC

Date Modified: 2007-11-13
Date modified: