ARCHIVED - Broadcasting Decision CRTC 2006-262

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Archived Decisions, Notices and Orders (DNOs) remain in effect except to the extent they are amended or reversed by the Commission, a court, or the government. The text of archived information has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Changes to DNOs are published as “dashes” to the original DNO number. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.


Broadcasting Decision CRTC 2006-262

  Ottawa, 23 June 2006
  Transitional digital radio programming undertakings
Across Canada

Administrative renewals


The Commission renews the broadcasting licences for the transitional digital radio programming undertakings set out in the appendix to this decision, from 1 September 2006 to 31 August 2007, subject to the terms and conditions in effect under the current licences.


This licence term will permit the Commission to consider the renewals of these undertakings in the light of possible amendments to its Transitional Digital Radio policy. Changes to the policy have been proposed by participants in the Commission's wider review of its policies regarding commercial radio. The Commission expects to publish its determinations regarding its radio policies at a later date.


A number of the undertakings have not yet commenced operations, as indicated in the appendix. The existing deadlines for these undertakings to commence operations are hereby extended until 31 August 2007.


This decision does not dispose of any substantive issue that may exist with respect to the renewal of these licences and interested parties will have an opportunity to comment at the appropriate time.
  Secretary General
  This decision is to be appended to each licence. It is available in alternative format upon request, and may also be examined in PDF format or in HTML at the following Internet site: 

Appendix to Broadcasting Decision CRTC 2006-262



Call sign / Location

  British Columbia
  Canadian Broadcasting Corporation CBUX-DR-1 Vancouver
CBU-DR-1 Vancouver
CBU-DR-2 Vancouver
CBUF-DR-1 Vancouver
  CHUM Limited CFUN-DR-2 Vancouver
CHQM-DR-1 Vancouver
  Corus Premium Television Ltd. CKNW-DR-2 New Westminster
CFMI-DR-1 New Westminster
  Corus Radio Company CFOX-DR-1 Vancouver
CHMJ-DR2 Vancouver
  O.K. Radio Group Ltd. CJZN-DR-1* Victoria
CKKQ-DR-1* Victoria

CKKS-DR-1 Sechelt

  Rogers Broadcasting Limited CKCL-DR-1 Vancouver
CKWX-DR-2 Vancouver


  1210361 Ontario Inc. (the general partner), and Whiteoaks Communications Group Limited, Peter Gilgan, Ken Harrigan, Terri Patterson and George E. Patton (the limited partners), carrying on business as AM 740 Primetime Radio Limited Partnership CHWO-DR-2* Toronto
  Canadian Broadcasting Corporation CBO-DR-1 Ottawa
CBOF-DR-1 Ottawa
CBOQ-DR-1 Ottawa
CBOX-DR-1 Ottawa

CBL-DR-1 Toronto
CBLA-DR-1 Toronto
CJBC-DR-1 Toronto
CJBC-DR-2 Toronto

CBE-DR-1 Windsor
CBE-DR-2 Windsor

  CHUM Limited CFRA-DR-2* Ottawa
CKKL-DR-1* Ottawa

CHUM-DR-1 Toronto
CHUM-DR-2 Toronto

CIDR-DR-1 Windsor
CIMX-DR-1 Windsor
CKLW-DR-2 Windsor
CKWW-DR-2 Windsor

  CHUM (Ottawa) Inc. CFGO-DR-2* Ottawa
CJMJ-DR-1* Ottawa
  CIRC Radio Inc. CIRV-DR-1 Toronto
  CJRT-FM Inc. CJRT-DR-1 Toronto
  CKMW Radio Ltd. CIAO-DR-2 Brampton
  Corus Premium Television Ltd. CILQ-DR-1 North York
CFMJ-DR-2 Toronto
  Corus Radio Company CFNY-DR-1 Brampton
  Fairchild Radio Group Ltd. CHKT-DR-2* Toronto
  Milestone Radio Inc. CFXJ-DR-1* Toronto
  Rogers Broadcasting Limited CHEZ-DR-1* Ottawa
CISS-DR-1* Ottawa
CIWW-DR-2* Ottawa
CFTR-DR-2 Toronto
CHFI-DR-1 Toronto
CJAQ-DR-1 Toronto
CJCL-DR-2 Toronto
  Radio 1540 Limited CHIN-DR-1 Toronto
CHIN-DR-2 Toronto
  Standard Radio Inc. CKQB-DR-1* Ottawa
CJEZ-DR-1 Toronto
CKFM-DR-1 Toronto
CFRB-DR-2 Toronto
  Sur Sagar Radio Inc. (No call sign)* Toronto
  Trafalgar Broadcasting Limited CJMR-DR-2 Mississauga
CJYE-DR-2 Oakville
  Trumar Communications Inc. CFMX-DR-1 Toronto
  Astral Media Radio inc. CIMF-DR-1* Gatineau
CKTF-DR-1* Gatineau
CITE-DR-1 Montréal
CKMF-DR-1 Montréal
  Canadian Broadcasting Corporation CBF-DR-1 Montréal
CBFX-DR-1 Montréal
CBM-DR-1 Montréal
CBME-DR-1 Montréal
  CHUM Limited CKGM-DR-2 Montréal
  Cogeco Diffusion inc. CFGL-DR-1* Laval
  Standard Radio Inc. CHOM-DR-1 Montréal
CJAD-DR-2* Montréal
CJFM-DR-1* Montréal
*Authorities not yet implemented.

Date Modified: 2006-03-23

Date modified: