ARCHIVED -  Telecom Public Notice CRTC 96-9

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Archived Decisions, Notices and Orders (DNOs) remain in effect except to the extent they are amended or reversed by the Commission, a court, or the government. The text of archived information has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Changes to DNOs are published as “dashes” to the original DNO number. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Telecom Public Notice

Ottawa, 26 March 1996

Telecom Public Notice CRTC 96-9


 References: AGT Tariff Notice 738

 BC TEL Tariff Notice 3441

 Bell Tariff Notice 5689

 Island Tel Tariff Notice 408

 MTS Tariff Notice 192

 MT&T Tariff Notice 586

 NBTel Tariff Notice 515

 Newfoundland Tel Tariff Notice 461

 In Revisions to the Mechanism to Recover Contribution Charges, Telecom Decision CRTC 95-23, 4 December 1995 (Decision 95-23), the Commission confirmed its view that it was appropriate to change the contribution mechanism from the then current per-circuit charge to one based on actual minutes of use. The Commission concluded that a de-averaged per-minute contribution mechanism should be implemented for trunk-side connections on 1 June 1996, and directed the telephone companies to file proposed tariffs to effect this change.

 In Decision 95-23, the Commission also noted that, due to technical limitations, the per-minute contribution mechanism could apply only to traffic on trunk-side connections. However, the Commission stated that it would be willing to consider an application to apply the per-minute mechanism to other types of connections if the technical limitations could be overcome.

 The Commission has received applications from AGT Limited, BC TEL, Bell Canada, The Island Telephone Company Limited, MTS NetCom Inc., Maritime Tel & Tel Limited, The New Brunswick Telephone Company, Limited (NBTel), and Newfoundland Telephone Company Limited (the telephone companies) for approval of tariff revisions to implement a per-minute line-side contribution collection mechanism for circuits leased to Alternative Providers of Long Distance Services (APLDS).

 With the exception of NBTel, the telephone companies stated that the technical limitations for measuring both originating and terminating calls on circuit groups associated with line-side connections have been resolved for the majority of switches. However, in locations where the per-minute line-side mechanism is not available, the telephone companies, with the exception of NBTel, proposed that the current per-circuit mechanism would continue to apply.

 The telephone companies (other than NBTel) also proposed that, following 1 June 1996 (the implementation date of the per-minute mechanism), APLDS would be given 30 days notice of a company's intention to migrate additional locations to the per-minute mechanism.


 1. Each of the telephone companies is directed to advise forthwith its line-side contribution paying customers of its application for approval of a per-minute contribution collection mechanism for line-side connections, as well as the process initiated by this Public Notice.

 2. The mailing addresses to be used in this proceeding are:

 Mr. Allan J. Darling
Secretary General
Ottawa, Ontario
KlA 0N2
Fax: 819-953-0795

 Mr. Bohdan S. Romaniuk
Vice-President, Regulatory Affairs
AGT Limited
31st Floor, 10020 - 100 Street
Edmonton, Alberta
T5J 0N5
Fax: 403-493-6519

 Ms. Sandra Hertz
Director, Regulatory Matters
18th Floor
3777 Kingsway
Burnaby, British Columbia
V5H 3Z7
Fax: 604-430-9653

 Mr. B.A. Courtois
Vice-President, (Corporate & Legal Affairs)
Bell Canada
105 Hôtel-de-Ville Street
6th Floor
Hull, Québec
J8X 4H7
Fax: 819-778-3437

 Mr. Howard McNutt
Regulatory Matters & Government Relations Manager
The Island Telephone Company Limited
P.O. Box 880, Station Central RPO
Halifax, Nova Scotia
B3J 2W3
Fax: 902-487-1538

 Mr. Roy Bruckshaw
Director, Regulatory Affairs
MTS NetCom Inc.
Box 6666
489 Empress Street
Winnipeg, Manitoba
R3C 3V6
Fax: 204-775-2560

 Mr. Howard McNutt
Regulatory Matters & Government Relations Manager
Maritime Tel & Tel Limited
P.O. Box 880, Station Central RPO
Halifax, Nova Scotia
B3J 2W3
Fax: 902-487-1538

 Mr. R.A. Stephen
Manager, Pricing and Regulatory Matters
The New Brunswick Telephone Company, Limited
One Brunswick Square (BS19)
P.O. Box 1430
Saint John, New Brunswick
E2L 4K2
Fax: 506-694-2473

 Mr. D.R. Tarrant
General Manager, Regulatory Matters
Newfoundland Telephone Company Limited
Fort William Building
P.O. Box 2110
St. John's, Newfoundland
A1C 5H6
Fax: 709-739-3122

 3. The applications may be examined at the offices of the CRTC in the following locations:

 Central Building
Les Terrasses de la Chaudière
1 Promenade du Portage, Room 201
Hull, Quebec

 Bank of Commerce Building
1809 Barrington Street
Suite 1007
Halifax, Nova Scotia

 Place Montréal Trust
1800 McGill College Avenue
Suite 1920
Montréal, Quebec

 275 Portage Avenue
Suite 1810
Winnipeg, Manitoba

 800 Burrard Street
Suite 1380, Box 1300
Vancouver, British Columbia

 4. Persons wishing to participate in this proceeding must file a notice of intention to participate with the Commission at the address noted in paragraph 2 by 12 April 1996. Parties are to indicate in the notice their Internet eMail address, where available. If parties do not have access to Internet, they are to indicate in their notice whether they wish to receive disk versions of hard copy filings. The Commission will issue a complete list of parties and their mailing addresses (including Internet eMail address if available), also identifying those parties who wish to receive disk versions.

 5. Parties may address interrogatories to the telephone companies. Any such interrogatories must be filed with the Commission and served on the telephone company or companies in question by 30 April 1996.

 6. The telephone companies are to file responses to interrogatories, serving copies on all parties by 30 May 1996.

 7. Parties may file comments with the Commission, serving copies on all other parties, by 27 June 1996.

 8. The telephone companies may file replies to any comments, serving copies on all other parties by 11 July 1996.

 9. In addition to hard copy filings, parties are encouraged to file with the Commission electronic versions of their submissions in accordance with the Commission's Interim Telecom Guidelines for the Handling of Machine-Readable Files, dated 30 November 1995. The Commission's Internet eMail address for electronically filed documents is Electronically filed documents can be accessed at the Commission's Internet site at

 10. Where a document is to be filed or served by a specific date, the document must be actually received, not merely mailed, by that date.

 In light of the procedure set out in this Public Notice, the Commission expects to issue a ruling with respect to the applications in the fourth quarter of 1996.

 Allan J. Darling
 Secretary General


Date modified: