Our Mandate, Mission and What We Do

The CRTC is an administrative tribunal that regulates and supervises broadcasting and telecommunications in the public interest.

We are dedicated to ensuring that Canadians—as citizens, creators and consumers—have access to a world-class communication system that promotes innovation and enriches their lives.

Our Mandate

Our mandate is entrusted to us by the Parliament of Canada, and administered through the Minister of Canadian Heritage. It focuses on achieving policy objectives established in the Broadcasting Act, Telecommunications Act and Canada’s anti-spam legislation (CASL)

We do not intervene in newspapers, magazines, the quality and content of TV and radio programs or the retail rates for most communication services.

We deliver our mandate from offices in the National Capital Region.

Our Mission

We recognize the importance of communication services to Canadians. And we are dedicated to ensuring that the needs and interests of Canadians are at the centre of the system that provides those services.

The activities we engage in to ensure that Canadians have access to a world-class communication system are supported by three pillars:

In fulfilling our mission, we strive to be an institution that Canadians trust. And we are committed to providing tools that help Canadians make informed decisions in the marketplace.

What we do

At the CRTC, we engage in a wide range of activities. We supervise and regulate over 2,000 broadcasters, including TV services, AM and FM radio stations, and the companies that bring these services to you. We also regulate telecommunications carriers, including major telephone companies.

Our activities include:

We listen and collaborate

To fulfill our mandate, we must understand the needs and interests of Canadians who make use of broadcasting and telecommunications services.

As a result, we regularly hold public hearings, round-table discussions, informal forums, and online discussion forums designed to gather Canadians' views about broadcasting and telecommunications services—information that we can then act on to serve the public interest.

We also attend regular meetings with our international counterparts in 25 countries to discuss new technologies, new market arrangements and emerging trends. Our experience with both broadcasting and telecommunications puts us in the unique position of being able to both learn from and help other regulators in the international community.

Read our 5-minute guide, It’s your CRTC: Here’s how to have your say!, to understanding and participating in our activities.

Date modified:

Notre mandate, mission et ce que nous faisons

Le CRTC est un tribunal administratif qui réglemente et surveille la radiodiffusion et les télécommunications dans l’intérêt du public.

Le CRTC est résolu à veiller à ce que les Canadiens – en tant que citoyens, créateurs et consommateurs – aient accès à un système de communication de classe mondiale qui encourage l’innovation et enrichit leur vie.

Mandate

Le mandat du CRTC lui est confié par le Parlement du Canada et il est administré par l’entremise du ministre du Patrimoine canadien. Il vise principalement les objectifs en matière de politique établis dans la Loi sur la radiodiffusion, la Loi sur les télécommunications et la Loi canadienne anti-pourriel.

Le CRTC n'intervient pas dans les journaux, les magazines, la qualité et le contenu des émissions de télévision et de radio ou les tarifs de détail de la plupart des services de communication.

Le CRTC remplit son mandat à partir de bureaux dans la région de la capitale nationale et de bureaux régionaux dans l’ensemble du pays.

Mission

Le CRTC reconnaît l’importance des services de communication pour les Canadiens. Il est déterminé à placer les besoins et les intérêts des Canadiens au coeur du système qui leur fournit ces services.

Pour faire en sorte que les Canadiens aient accès à un système de communication de classe mondiale, les activités du CRTC s’appuient sur les trois jalons suivants :

En accomplissant sa mission, le CRTC se veut une institution qui bénéficie de la confiance des Canadiens. Il est également déterminé à fournir des outils permettant aux Canadiens de faire des choix éclairés au sein du marché.

Ce que nous faisons

Le CRTC exerce des activités dans une grande variété de domaines. Il supervise et réglemente plus de 2 000 radiodiffuseurs qui comprennent des services de télévision et des stations de radio AM et FM, ainsi que les entreprises qui distribuent ces services. Il réglemente également les entreprises de télécommunications, y compris les grandes compagnies de téléphone.

Ses activités couvrent notamment les domaines suivants :

Écoute et collaboration

Afin de bien remplir son mandat, le CRTC doit comprendre les besoins et les intérêts des Canadiens qui utilisent les services de radiodiffusion et de télécommunications.

Par conséquent, le CRTC tient régulièrement des audiences publiques, des tables rondes, des forums informels et des forums de discussion en ligne dans le but de recueillir les commentaires des Canadiens sur les services de radiodiffusion et de télécommunications – renseignements qui lui seront alors utiles pour prendre des mesures en vue de servir l'intérêt public.

Le CRTC assiste aussi régulièrement à des rencontres avec ses homologues internationaux dans 25 autres pays afin de discuter de nouvelles technologies, de nouvelles ententes relatives au marché et de tendances émergentes. L'expérience du CRTC en matière de radiodiffusion et de télécommunications le place dans une position unique pour aider d’autres organismes de réglementation dans la communauté internationale tout en apprenant de ceux-ci.

Consultez notre guide de 5 minutes, C’est votre CRTC : Voici comment faire connaître votre opinion!, pour comprendre nos activités et participer.

Date de modification :