Communications Monitoring Report 2015: Executive Summary

Acknowledgement

The Commission wishes to thank all the entities that completed the CRTC Data Collection forms, without which this report would not have been possible. The Commission would also like to acknowledge the assistance provided by Industry Canada in the analysis of broadband deployment as it related to the rural communities in Canada; Statistics Canada for the various supplementary data used in this report; Numeris (formerly BBM Canada) for audience measures; NLogic (formerly BBM Analytics) for the Media Technology Monitor (MTM); and Mediastats.

Interested parties are welcome to provide comments for improvements or additions to future editions of the report. You can send your comments to the attention of the Secretary General, CRTC, Ottawa, K1A 0N2.

Chairman’s message

I am pleased to present the 2015 Communications Monitoring Report. This report provides a comprehensive view of the Canadian communication services sector, including the technologies they depend on to participate in the digital economy.

This year’s edition reveals important trends in how Canadians use their communication services. A picture of the broadband home of the future is beginning to emerge as the majority of households now subscribe to Internet packages with speeds at or above 10 megabits per second, while packages with slower speeds have been declining in popularity. Although Canadians are using a variety of ways to communicate, they are increasingly choosing wireless services over traditional telephone services.

The report also contains new data, including additional information on ethnic radio stations and average monthly mobile data usage.

We have undertaken additional efforts to provide high-level information that is clear and easy to understand in the section titled “Canada’s Communication System: An Overview for Citizens, Consumers and Creators.” While communication services account for a significant portion of most families’ monthly budget, Canadians have a number of options in today’s competitive marketplace. We invite them to use the information in the following pages to help them make informed decisions about their services.

The CRTC aims to ensure Canadians are at the centre of their communication system. To do so, it is important that they participate in our public consultations and at our public hearings. The data in this report can inform their comments and ideas and provide evidence to support their views.

We look forward to hearing from all participants in the Canadian communication sector as we work to ensure that Canadians have access to a world-class system.

Jean-Pierre Blais
Chairman and CEO

Executive Summary

The Communications Monitoring Report (CMR) provides a comprehensive overview of the communications markets in Canada. Specifically, it provide the industry, stakeholders and the Canadian public with a meaningful tool to help them better understand the communications industry and participate in the CRTC’s proceedings.

Key communications market trends for 2014

New technologies are shaping how Canadians are communicating

The way Canadians are consuming content is changing

Alternative audio activity on the rise

Revisions to the Communications Monitoring Report – November 2015

Date modified:

Rapport de surveillance des communications 2015 : Résumé

Remerciements

Le Conseil souhaite remercier de leur aide tous les organismes qui ont rempli les formulaires de
Collecte de données du CRTC sans qui ce rapport n’aurait jamais vu le jour. Le Conseil tient aussi à remercier Industrie Canada pour l’analyse de la mise en œuvre de la bande passante dans le contexte des collectivités rurales du Canada ; Statistique Canada pour les diverses données supplémentaires utilisées dans ce rapport ; Numeris (anciennement connu sous le nom de Sondages BBM) pour les cotes d’écoute ; NLogic (anciennement connu sous le nom de BBM Analytique) pour l’observateur de technologies médias (OTM) ; et Mediastats.

Le Conseil invite les parties intéressées à envoyer les commentaires destinés à améliorer ou compléter de futures parutions de ce rapport par courrier, à l’attention du Secrétaire général, CRTC, Ottawa, K1A 0N2.

Message du président

J’ai le plaisir de vous présenter le Rapport de surveillance des communications, édition 2015, qui offre une vue d’ensemble du secteur canadien des services de communication et des technologies sur lesquelles il repose pour participer à l’économie numérique.

L’édition de cette année révèle des tendances importantes dans la façon dont les Canadiens utilisent leurs services de communication. Le portrait du foyer branché de demain commence à se dessiner alors que la majorité des ménages sont désormais abonnés à des forfaits Internet offrant des vitesses égales ou supérieures à 10 mégabits par seconde, les forfaits aux basses vitesses perdant de leur popularité. S’il est vrai que les Canadiens utilisent divers moyens pour communiquer, il reste qu’ils délaissent de plus en plus les services téléphoniques classiques au profit des services sans-fil.

Le rapport contient également de nouvelles données, dont des renseignements supplémentaires sur les stations de radio à caractère ethnique et l’utilisation mensuelle moyenne de données sur mobile.

Nous avons redoublé d’efforts pour présenter des renseignements généraux clairs et faciles à comprendre dans la section intitulée « Système de communication du Canada : Un aperçu à l’intention des citoyens, des consommateurs et des créateurs ». La plupart des familles consacrent une part importante de leur budget mensuel aux services de communication. Grâce à la concurrence qui existe dans le marché d’aujourd’hui, les Canadiens peuvent choisir parmi différentes options. Nous les invitons donc à consulter les renseignements se trouvant dans les pages qui suivent pour prendre des décisions éclairées quant à leurs services.

Le CRTC veut s’assurer que les Canadiens sont au cœur de leur système de communication. Il importe donc qu’ils participent à ses consultations publiques et à ses audiences publiques. Les renseignements que renferme le présent rapport peuvent éclairer leurs observations et leurs idées, voire leur fournir des éléments de preuve pour appuyer leurs opinions.

Nous attendons avec impatience les interventions de tous les participants au secteur canadien des communications alors que nous poursuivons nos travaux pour garantir que les Canadiens ont accès à un système de calibre mondial.

Jean-Pierre Blais
Président et premier dirigeant

Résumé

Le Rapport de surveillance des communications présente une vue d’ensemble des marchés des communications au Canada. Plus précisément, il offre à l’industrie, aux intervenants et au public canadien un outil utile qui les aidera à mieux comprendre le secteur des communications et à participer aux instances du CRTC.

Principales tendances du marché des communications en 2014

Les nouvelles technologies façonnent les modes de communication des Canadiens

 Les Canadiens modifient leur façon de consommer le contenu

Autres services audio en expansion

Modifications apportées au Rapport de surveillance des communications – novembre 2015

Date de modification :