Telecom - Commission Letter addressed to W.N.(Bill) Beckham (SaskTel)

Ottawa, 14 January 2022

Our reference: 8740-S22-202107515

BY EMAIL

W.N.(Bill) Beckham
Senior Director – Regulatory Affairs
Saskatchewan Telecommunications
2121 Saskatchewan Drive
Regina, Saskatchewan S4P 3Y2
document.control@sasktel.com

Subject: Associated with SaskTel Tariff Notice 373A –Next Generation 9-1-1 (NG9-1-1) Service- Requests for information

Dear W.N. (Bill) Beckham,

On 1 November 2021, the Commission received an application from Saskatchewan Telecommunication (SaskTel) pursuant to Telecom Decision CRTC 2021-199Footnote1 requesting approval for proposed changes to General Tariff – Basic services CRTC 21411 to introduce item 140.07 – Next Generation 9-1-1 (NG9-1-1) Service. In Decision 2021-199, the Commission directed all NG9-1-1 network providers to file proposed wholesale and retail tariffs no later than 1 November 2021. These tariffs are to include proposed rates supported by cost studies that reflect the incremental costs of adding new NG9-1-1 networks, services, and functionalities Commission staff requests that SaskTel respond to the attached request for information by 31 January 2022.

Please note where a document is to be filed or served by a specific date, the document must be actually received, not merely sent, by that date.

The Commission requires the response or other documents to be submitted electronically by using the secured service “My CRTC Account” (Partner Log In or GCKey) and filling the “Broadcasting and Telecom Cover page” or the “Broadcasting Cover Page” located on the Commission’s website. There, you will also find information on the submission of applications to the Commission “Filing Broadcasting and Canadian Program Certification documents with the CRTC: Privacy and Security.”

A copy of this letter and all related correspondence will be added to the public record of the proceeding.
As set out in section 39 of the Telecommunications ActFootnote2 and in Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961Footnote3, Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, persons may designate certain information as confidential. A person designating information as confidential must provide a detailed explanation on why the designated information is confidential and why its disclosure would not be in the public interest, including why the specific direct harm that would be likely to result from the disclosure would outweigh the public interest in disclosure. Furthermore, a person designating information as confidential must either file an abridged version of the document omitting only the information designated as confidential or provide reasons why an abridged version cannot be filed.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Chris Noonan
Director, Competitor Services & Costing Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.: B. Natraj (Nat Natraj), CRTC, 819-953-5081, nat.natraj@crtc.gc.ca
Stais Armstrong, CRTC, 819-997-9253, stacey.armstrong@crtc.gc.ca

Attach. (1)

NG9-1-1 Request for information (RFI)

  1. Refer to the submission “SaskTel_Cost_Study_TN373_ App1 NG9-1-1 ABR”
    1. Refer to Table 3, row item “SaskTel”.  Provide the list of retail services included in this demand category.
  2. Refer to “SaskTel_Cost_Study_TN373_App2_NG9-1-1_ABR”:
    1. Refer to Tab “Table 6a – Expenses”:
      1. Explain how the major expense item activities in the key reporting cost category “Expenses Causal to Service Other” help support the operation of the NG9-1-1 service without disruption, as indicated in paragraph 31 of the study reportFootnote4
      2. Compare the expenses in the above indicated Tab with the “Expenses causal to service” row item “Other” in Table 7 of “SaskTel_Cost_Study_TN373_ App1 NG9-1-1 ABR” and explain the differences or provide revisions if applicable.
      3. Refer to section C “Expenses estimated explicitly –Startup”.  If expenses explicitly estimated are based on actual spending tracked to the project included loadings, provide the loading factor(s) used and briefly explain how they were estimated and why it is necessary.
    2. Refer to Tab “Table 6b – Capital”, section “Costs Causal to Service - Hardware”, and row items “Digital Switching Local”, “Packet Switched Core Network” and “Multimedia Communications”:
      1. Provide examples of the types of hardware components deployed in each of the aforementioned row items. 
      2. Explain why Digital Switching Local, and Packet Switched Core Network hardware are required for NG9-1-1.
      3. Explain how the above mentioned capital hardware components help deliver the NG9-1-1 service.
    3. Refer to the Tab “Table 6b - Capital”, section “Costs Causal to Service – Software”, and row items “Application Software Packet Switched Core Network” and “Application Software -Multimedia Communication equipment”:
      1. Provide examples of the types of software components deployed in each of the aforementioned row items.
      2. Explain, with supporting rationale, why “Application Software Packet Switched Core Network” is required for NG9-1-1 service.
      3. Explain how the above mentioned software components help deliver the NG9-1-1 service.
    4. Refer to Tab “Table 8c - Third-Party Costs”, section “Third-Party Costs estimated explicitly (fixed price contract)”, row items “Subscription Services - Ongoing”, “Support Services - Ongoing”, “Security Certificates - Ongoing” and “Wavelength Services – Ongoing”:          
      1. For each of the above row items, provide a brief description of the activities and explain how they are used in providing the NG9-1-1 service.
      2. Provide the methodology, assumptions, and detailed calculations used to estimate the annual cash flows in the study period for each the aforementioned activities, providing the applicable unit costs and associated cost drivers. Further, explain how the drivers were estimated in each year of the study period.
  3. Refer to “SaskTel TN373_ NG9-1-1 App3” and indicate the worksheet name, tab name, applicable row and column reference where the NG9-1-1 rate calculation includes the SaskTel ESInet components indicated in Appendix 3.
Date modified:

Télécom - Lettre du Conseil adressée à W.N.(Bill) Beckham (SaskTel)

Ottawa, le 14 janvier 2022

Notre référence : 8740-S22-202107515

PAR COURRIEL

W.N. (Bill) Beckham
Directeur principal – Affaires réglementaires
Saskatchewan Telecommunications
2121 Saskatchewan S4P 3Y2
document.control@sasktel.com

Objet : Associé à l’avis de modification tarifaire 373A de SaskTel – Services 9-1-1 de prochaine génération (9-1-1 PG) – Demande de renseignements

Bonjour,

Le 1er novembre 2021, le Conseil a reçu une demande de Saskatchewan Communication (SaskTel), en vertu de la décision de télécom CRTC 2021-199Note de bas de page1 demandant l’approbation des modifications proposées au Tarif général – Services de base CRTC 21411 pour introduire l’article 140.07 – Services 9-1-1 de prochaine génération (9-1-1 PG). Dans la décision 2021-199, le Conseil a ordonné à tous les fournisseurs de réseaux de services 9-1-1 PG de déposer leurs propositions de tarifs de gros et de détail au plus tard le 1er novembre 2021. Ces tarifs doivent comprendre les tarifs proposés, étayés par des études de coûts qui reflètent les coûts différentiels liés à l’ajout de nouveaux réseaux, services et fonctionnalités des services 9-1-1 PG.

Le personnel du Conseil demande à SaskTel de répondre à la demande de renseignements ci-jointe d’ici le 31 janvier 2022.

Lorsqu’un document doit être déposé ou signifié à une date précise, il doit être effectivement reçu, et non simplement envoyé, à cette date.

Le Conseil exige que la réplique ou d’autres documents soient soumis par voie électronique en utilisant le service sécurisé « Mon compte CRTC » (partenaire de connexion ou CléGC) et en remplissant la « page couverture de radiodiffusion » ou la « page couverture de télécom » qui se trouve sur le site Web du Conseil. Vous y trouverez également des renseignements sur la présentation de demandes au Conseil « Dépôt de documents de radiodiffusion et de certification d’une émission canadienne auprès du CRTC : Protection des renseignements personnels et sécurité ».

Des copies de la présente lettre et de toute la correspondance connexe seront ajoutées au dossier public de l’instance.

Comme il est indiqué à l’article 39 de la Loi sur les télécommunicationsNote de bas de page2 et dans le bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961Note de bas de page3, Procédure à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, les personnes peuvent désigner certains renseignements comme étant confidentiels. Toute personne qui désigne des renseignements comme étant confidentiels doit fournir une explication détaillée des raisons pour lesquelles ceux-ci sont désignés comme étant confidentiels et leur divulgation ne serait pas dans l’intérêt public, y compris les raisons pour lesquelles le préjudice direct et précis qui résulterait probablement de la divulgation l’emporterait sur l’intérêt public de la divulgation. En outre, toute personne qui désigne des renseignements comme étant confidentiels doit fournir une version abrégée du document, en omettant uniquement les renseignements désignés comme confidentiels, ou indiquer les raisons pour lesquelles une version abrégée ne peut être fournie.

Veuillez agréer, l’expression de mes sentiments distingués.

Le directeur,

L’original signé par

Chris Noonan
Mise en œuvre des services aux concurrents et établissement des coûts
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c. B. Natraj (Nat Natraj), CRTC, 819-953-5081, nat.natraj@crtc.gc.ca
Stais Armstrong, CRTC, 819-997-9253, stacey.armstrong@crtc.gc.ca

Pièce jointe (1)

Questions relatives à la demande de renseignements sur les services 9-1-1 PG

  1. Reportez-vous à la soumission « SaskTel_Cost_Study_TN373_ App1 NG9-1-1 ABR ».
    1. Reportez-vous au tableau 3, à la ligne « SaskTel ». Veuillez fournir la liste des services de détail inclus dans cette catégorie de demande.
  2. Reportez-vous au document « SaskTel_Cost_Study_TN373_App2_NG9-1-1_ABR» :
    1. Reportez-vous à l’onglet « Table 6a – Expenses » :
      1. Expliquez comment les activités des principaux postes de dépenses dans la catégorie de coûts de rapport clé « Expenses Causal to Service Other » contribuent à soutenir le fonctionnement des services 9-1-1 PG sans interruption, comme indiqué au paragraphe 31 du rapport d’étudeNote de bas de page4.
      2. Comparez les dépenses de l’onglet ci-dessus avec l’élément de la ligne « Expenses causal to service » « Other  » du tableau 7 de « SaskTel_Cost_Study_TN373_ App1 NG9-1-1 ABR » et expliquez les différences et fournissez les révisions le cas échéant.
      3. Reportez-vous à la section  C « Expenses estimated explicitly –Startup »., Si les dépenses sont estimées de manière explicite sur la base des dépenses réelles suivies des charges incluses dans le projet, fournissez le(s) facteur(s) de charge utilisé(s) et expliquez brièvement comment ils ont été estimés et pourquoi c’est nécessaire.
    2. Reportez-vous à l’onglet « Table 6b – Capital », section « Costs Causal to Service - Hardware », et aux lignes « Digital Switching Local », « Packet Switched Core Network » et « Multimedia Communications » :
      1. Fournissez des exemples des types de composants matériels déployés dans chacune des lignes susmentionnées.
      2. Expliquez pourquoi le matériel de commutation numérique locale et le  réseau central à commutation par paquets sont nécessaires pour les services 9-1-1 PG
      3. Expliquez comment les composants matériels mentionnés ci-dessus aident à fournir les services 9-1-1 PG.
    3. Reportez-vous à l’onglet « Table 6b - Capital », section « Costs Causal to Service – Software », et aux lignes « Application Software Packet Switched Core Network »  et « Application Software -Multimedia Communication equipment » :
      1. Fournissez des exemples des types de composants logiciels déployés dans chacune des lignes susmentionnées.
      2. Expliquez, justification à l’appui, pourquoi le « Application Software Packet Switched Core Network » est requis pour les services 9-1-1 PG.
      3. Expliquez comment les composants logiciels mentionnés ci-dessus aident à fournir les services 9-1-1 PG.
    4. Reportez-vous à l’onglet « Table 8c - Third-Party Costs », section « Third-Party Costs estimated explicitly (fixed price contract) », lignes « Subscription Services - Ongoing », « Support Services - Ongoing », « Security Certificates - Ongoing » et « Wavelength Services – Ongoing » : 
      1. Pour chacune des lignes ci-dessus, fournissez une brève description des activités et expliquez comment elles sont utilisées pour fournir les services 9-1-1 PG.
      2. Veuillez fournir la méthodologie, les hypothèses et les calculs détaillés utilisés pour estimer les flux de trésorerie annuels au cours de la période d’étude pour chacune des activités susmentionnées, en fournissant les coûts unitaires applicables et les inducteurs de coûts associés. En outre, expliquez comment les inducteurs ont été estimés pour chaque année de la période d’étude.
  3. Reportez-vous au document « SaskTel TN373_ NG9-1-1 App3 » et indiquez le nom de la feuille de calcul, le nom de l’onglet, la ligne applicable et la référence de la colonne où le calcul du tarif 9-1-1 PG inclut les composants ESInet de SaskTel indiqués dans l’annexe 3. 
Date de modification :