Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to Lawry Trevor-Deutsch (TNW Wireless Inc.)

Ottawa, 23 March 2018

Our reference: 8620-R63-201705675

BY EMAIL

Mr. Lawry Trevor-Deutsch
President, TNW Wireless Inc.
468 Pleasant Park Road
Ottawa, Ontario  K1H 5N1
regulatory@tnwcorp.com

RE: Part 1 application by TNW Wireless Inc. relating to wholesale roaming agreements required under Telecom Regulatory Policy 2015-177 – Procedural Letter

Mr. Trevor-Deutsch:

On 3 July 2017, TNW Wireless Inc. (TNW) filed an application requesting that the Commission compel Bell Mobility Inc. (Bell) and TELUS Communications Company (TELUS) to provide wholesale roaming for TNW’s wireless customers and rule on whether customers using TNW’s iPCS technology outside of TNW’s licensed areas are to be considered to be roaming. In the application, TNW requested interim and final relief.

On 20 July 2017, the Commission launched Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2017-259 (TNC 2017-259), following the issuance of Order in Council (OIC) P.C. 2017-0557 by the Governor in Council. The OIC referred Telecom Decision CRTC 2017-56 back to the Commission for reconsideration by 31 March 2018. Specifically, the OIC directed the Commission to reconsider whether, for the purposes of the final terms and conditions for wholesale mobile wireless roaming service, the definition of “home network” should be broadened to include other forms of connectivity besides licensed wireless spectrum provisioned through a radio access network, such as “Wi-Fi first” applications.

On 23 October 2017, the Commission issued a decision letter where it suspended consideration of TNW’s 3 July 2017 application for final relief until the completion of the TNC 2017-259 proceeding, and denied the application for interim relief.

On 22 March 2018, the Commission issued its decision with respect to TNC 2017-259 (Telecom Decision CRTC 2018-97, which can be found here).

In light of the above, should TNW still want the Commission to address the 3 July 2017 application, it must advise the Commission by 27 March 2018.

Furthermore, if TNW wants the Commission to proceed with the application, TNW will have until 13 April 2018 to supplement as appropriate, in light of Telecom Decision CRTC 2018-97, its application.  Bell, TELUS, as well as any interveners in the 3 July 2017 application, will have until 3 May 2018 to supplement, in light of Telecom Decision CRTC 2018-97, their original submissions. TNW will then have until 14 May 2018 to file a final reply.  

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution and Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector
c.c.:    Danny Moreau, CRTC, danny.moreau@crtc.gc.ca
Chris Copeland, regulatory@tacitlaw.com
Bell Mobility Inc., bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Rogers Communications Canada Inc., rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
TELUS Communications Company, regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Ice Wireless Inc., regulatory@icewireless.ca
Shaw Communications Inc., Regulatory@sjrb.ca
Eastlink, regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca
Québecor Média inc. dennis.beland@quebecor.com
Public Interest Advocacy Centre (PIAC), jlawford@piac.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à Lawry Trevor-Deutsch (TNW Wireless Inc.)

Ottawa, le 23 mars 2018

Notre référence : 8620-R63-201705675

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Lawry Trevor-Deutsch
Président, TNW Wireless Inc.
468 Pleasant Park Road
Ottawa (Ontario) K1H 5N1
regulatory@tnwcorp.com

OBJET : Demande en vertu de la partie 1 présentée par TNW Wireless Inc. concernant les ententes de service d’itinérance de gros exigés par la Politique réglementaire de télécom CRTC 2015-177 – Lettre procédurale

Monsieur,

Le 3 juillet 2017, TNW Wireless Inc. (TNW) a présenté une demande au Conseil en vue d’imposer à Bell Mobilité inc. (Bell) et à TELUS Communications Company (TELUS) d’offrir des services d’itinérance de gros aux clients de ses services sans fil, et d’obtenir une décision quant à la question de savoir si ses clients utilisant sa technologie iPCS à l’extérieur des secteurs autorisés de TNW seraient considérés « en itinérance ». Dans sa demande, TNW a demandé un redressement provisoire et un redressement définitif.

Le 20 juillet 2017, le Conseil a publié l’Avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2017-259 (ACT 2017‑259), à la suite de la publication du décret C. P. 2017-0557 par le gouverneur en conseil. Dans le décret, le gouverneur en conseil renvoie la Décision de télécom CRTC 2017-56 au Conseil pour réexamen avant le 31 mars 2018. Plus précisément, le décret a chargé le Conseil de déterminer si, aux fins des modalités définitives applicables aux tarifs du service d’itinérance sans fil mobile de gros, la définition de « réseau d’origine » devrait être élargie afin de comprendre des formes de connectivité autres que du spectre sans fil autorisé fourni au moyen d’un réseau d’accès radio, comme les applications « Wi-Fi en premier lieu ».

Le 23 octobre 2017, le Conseil a publié une lettre de décision dans laquelle il a suspendu le traitement de la demande de redressement définitif présentée par TNW le 3 juillet 2017 jusqu’à l’achèvement de l’instance liée à l’ACT 2017-259, et a rejeté la demande de redressement provisoire.

Le 22 mars 2018, le Conseil a rendu sa décision à l’égard de l’ACT 2017-259 (Décision télécom CRTC 2018-97, peut être consultée ici).

À la lumière de ce qui précède, si TNW souhaite toujours que le Conseil traite sa demande du 3 juillet 2017, elle doit en aviser le Conseil d’ici le 27 mars 2018.

En outre, si TNW souhaite que le Conseil poursuive l’examen de sa demande, TNW aura jusqu’au 13 avril 2018 pour compléter sa demande, le cas échéant, de façon à tenir compte de la Décision de télécom CRTC 2018-97. Bell, TELUS et tous les intervenants visés par la demande du 3 juillet 2017, auront jusqu’au 3 mai 2018 pour compléter leurs mémoires initiaux de façon à tenir compte de la Décision de télécom CRTC 2018-97. TNW aura ensuite jusqu’au 14 mai 2018 pour déposer une réponse finale.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur

Original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et Mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications
c. c.   Danny Moreau, CRTC, danny.moreau@crtc.gc.ca
Chris Copeland, regulatory@tacitlaw.com
Bell Mobilité inc., bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Rogers Communications Canada Inc., rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
TELUS Communications Company, regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Ice Wireless Inc., regulatory@icewireless.ca
Shaw Communications Inc., Regulatory@sjrb.ca
Eastlink, regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca
Québecor Média inc. dennis.beland@quebecor.com
Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public (CDIP), jlawford@piac.ca

Date de modification :