Telecom Commission Letter addressed to David Watt (Rogers Communications Inc) and Dennis Béland (Québécor Média)

Ottawa, 2 February 2016

Our reference:  8661-P8-201510199

BY EMAIL

Mr. David Watt
Rogers Communications Inc.
333 Bloor Street East, 9th Floor
Toronto, Ontario  M4W 1G9
david.watt@rci.rogers.com

Mr. Dennis Béland
Québecor Média
612 St-Jacques Street
South Tower, 15th Floor
Montréal, Quebéc  H3C 4MB
dennis.beland@quebecor.com

RE: Part I Applications regarding Videotron’s mobile wireless Unlimited Music service – Request for disclosure

Dear Sirs:

This letter addresses a request made by Rogers Communications Inc. (Rogers) in its 13 January 2016 submission for disclosure of information in respect of which confidentiality was claimed by Québecor Média (Vidéotron) in its response to Quebecor Média(CRTC)1déc2015-2. In its response, Vidéotron maintained in confidence the name of the service provider whose request to participate in Vidéotron’s Unlimited Music service was rejected as well as the reason for such rejection.

In particular, Rogers requested disclosure of the specific eligibility criterion which the service provider failed to meet. Rogers argued that Vidéotron should not be able to claim confidentiality for these additional eligibility criteria as that would prevent potential service providers from knowing all the criteria they have to meet to participate in Unlimited Music.

Vidéotron argued that the particular reason for not including the service provider in its Unlimited Music service is subject to a non-disclosure agreement by which it is bound, and further, disclosure of such information would be harmful to Vidéotron as well as the service provider.

Assessment of the request

Requests for disclosure of information designated as confidential are addressed in light of sections 38 and 39 of the Telecommunications Act (the Act) and section 30 and following of the CRTC Rules of Practice and Procedure (the Rules of Procedure). In evaluating a request, an assessment is first made as to whether the information falls into a category of information that can be designated as confidential pursuant to section 39 of the Act. An assessment is then made as to whether there is any specific direct harm likely to result from the disclosure of the information in question and whether any such harm outweighs the public interest in disclosure.

In making this evaluation, a number of factors are taken into consideration, including the degree of competition and the importance of disclosure of the information for the purpose of obtaining a fuller record.  The factors considered are discussed in more detail in Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961, 23 December 2010, as amended by Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961-1, 26 October 2012.

Conclusion

Commission staff notes that, contrary to Rogers’ submission, Videotron did not state that additional eligibility criteria were applied to reject the service provider in question.  Rather, Videotron requested confidentiality in respect of the name of the service provider and the particular criterion that the service provider did not meet.  The criterion in question is not new to the record of this proceeding.  Staff considers that disclosure of this information will not contribute to a more meaningful discussion and understanding of the issues being examined in this proceeding.

Having regard to the considerations set out above,Commission staff considers that any harm that is likely to result in disclosure of the Videotron’s reason for rejecting the service provider in question outweighs the public interest in disclosure.

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by

Andrew Falcone
Senior Manager, Strategic Research and Planning
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.:  Distribution List


Distribution List

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à David Watt (Rogers Communications Inc.) et Dennis Béland (Québécor Média)

Ottawa, le 2 février 2016

Notre référence : 8661-P8-201510199

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur David Watt
Rogers Communications Inc.
333, rue Bloor Est, 9e étage
Toronto (Ontario)  M4W 1G9
david.watt@rci.rogers.com

Monsieur Dennis Béland
Québecor Média
612, rue St-Jacques
Tour Sud, 15e étage
Montréal (Québec)  H3C 4MB
dennis.beland@quebecor.com

OBJET :  Demandes en vertu de la partie 1 concernant le service mobile Musique illimitée de Vidéotron – Demande de divulgation

Messieurs,

La présente fait suite à une demande déposée par Rogers Communications Inc. (Rogers) dans sa lettre datée du 13 janvier 2016 concernant la divulgation de renseignements pour lesquels une demande de traitement confidentiel a été déposée par Québecor Média (Vidéotron) dans sa réponse à Quebecor Média(CRTC)1déc 2015-2. Dans cette dernière, Vidéotron a tenu confidentiels le nom du fournisseur de services dont la demande de participation au service Musique illimitée de Vidéotron a été rejetée ainsi que le motif de ce rejet.

Plus particulièrement, Rogers a demandé à ce que soit divulgué le critère d’admissibilité précis que le fournisseur de services n’a pas respecté. Rogers a fait valoir que Vidéotron ne devrait pas pouvoir demander le traitement confidentiel de ces critères d’admissibilité supplémentaires, car cela empêcherait les fournisseurs de services potentiels de connaître tous les critères à respecter pour participer au service Musique illimitée.

Vidéotron a fait valoir que le motif particulier à l’origine de la non-inclusion du fournisseur de services pour son service Musique illimitée est assujetti à une entente de non-divulgation à laquelle l’entreprise est liée. Qui plus est, la divulgation de tels renseignements porterait préjudice à Vidéotron ainsi qu’au fournisseur de services.

Évaluation de la demande

Les demandes de divulgation de renseignements désignés comme confidentiels sont évaluées en fonction des articles 38 et 39 de la Loi sur les télécommunications (la Loi) ainsi que de l’article 30 et des articles suivants des Règles de pratique et de procédure du CRTC (les Règles de procédure). Lorsqu’il évalue une demande, le Conseil cherche à savoir si les renseignements s’inscrivent dans une catégorie de renseignements considérés comme confidentiels aux termes de l’article 39 de la Loi. Il détermine ensuite si la divulgation des renseignements en question risque d’entraîner un préjudice direct particulier, et si ce préjudice l’emporte sur l’intérêt public de les divulguer.

Dans le cadre de son évaluation, le Conseil doit tenir compte d’un certain nombre de facteurs, notamment du degré de concurrence et de l’importance de la divulgation des renseignements pour la constitution d’un dossier complet. Les facteurs à évaluer figurent dans les Procédures à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961, 23 décembre 2010, modifié par le Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961-1, 26 octobre 2012.

Conclusion

Le personnel du Conseil fait remarquer que, contrairement à ce qu’indique Rogers dans sa demande, Vidéotron n’a pas mentionné que des critères d’admissibilité supplémentaires avaient été appliqués pour rejeter le fournisseur de services en question. Vidéotron a plutôt demandé à tenir confidentiels le nom de ce dernier et le critère particulier que celui-ci n’a pas respecté. Le critère n’est pas nouveau dans le dossier de cette instance. Le personnel est d’avis que la divulgation de ces renseignements ne contribuera pas à une discussion plus utile et à une compréhension des enjeux examinés pour cette instance.

Compte tenu des considérations qui précèdent, le personnel du Conseil est d’avis que tout préjudice qui risque de découler de la divulgation du motif pour lequel Vidéotron a rejeté la demande du fournisseur de services en question l’emporte sur l’intérêt public de le divulguer.

Veuillez agréer, Messieurs, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

L’original signé par

Andrew Falcone
Gestionnaire principal, Recherche et planification stratégiques
Secteur des télécommunications

c.c. : Liste de distribution


Liste de distribution

benjiklass@hotmail.com 
jfmezei@vaxination.ca 
gwhite@piac.ca
bell.regulatory@bell.ca 
regulatory@bell.aliant.ca 
rci.regulatory@rci.rogers.com 
regulatory.affairs@telus.com 
document.control@sasktel.com 
iworkstation@mtsallstream.com 
regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca 
rob.olenick@tbaytel.com 
jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca 
dennis.beland@quebecor.com 
eantecol@windmobile.ca 
gary.wong@mobilicity.ca 
regulatory@cnoc.ca 
cedwards@ccsa.cable.ca 
telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com 
Regulatory@sjrb.ca
fenwick.mckelvey@concordia.ca 
steven.may@ryerson.ca 
tisrael@cippic.ca et cippic@uottawa.ca 
david@davidellis.ca 
mnanni@hushmail.com
josh@openmedia.ca
rwadsworth@sandvine.com

Date de modification :