### **Broadcasting Decision CRTC 2018-182**

PDF version

Ottawa, 24 May 2018

#### Various licensees

Various locations

## Various terrestrial broadcasting distribution undertakings – Administrative renewals

- The Commission renews the broadcasting licences for the terrestrial broadcasting distribution undertakings (BDUs) set out in Appendix 1 to this decision from 1 June 2018 to 31 August 2018, subject to the terms and conditions in effect under the current licences. The Commission is considering the renewal of these licences in Broadcasting licence renewals of terrestrial broadcasting distribution undertakings that will expire in May 2018, Broadcasting Notice of Consultation CRTC 2017-160, 18 May 2017.
- 2. The Commission also **renews** the broadcasting licences for the terrestrial BDUs set out in Appendix 2 to this decision from 1 September 2018 to 31 December 2018, and in Appendix 3 to this decision from 1 September 2018 to 31 August 2019, subject to the terms and **conditions** in effect under the current licences.
- 3. This decision does not dispose of any issue that may arise with respect to the renewal of these licences, including past non-compliance issues.

Secretary General

This decision is to be appended to each licence.



### **Appendix 1 to Broadcasting Decision CRTC 2018-182**

# Terrestrial broadcasting distribution undertakings for which the broadcasting licences will expire on 31 August 2018

Licensee name	Location
2251723 Ontario Inc.	Barrie, Greater Toronto Area (including Ajax, Aurora, Bolton, Brampton, Caledon, Claremont, Etobicoke, Georgetown, King City, Markham, Milton, Mississauga, Nobleton, North York, Pickering, Richmond Hill, Scarborough, Toronto, Vaughan and Woodbridge), Hamilton-Niagara, Kingston, Kitchener-Waterloo, London, Oshawa, Ottawa, Peterborough, Sudbury, Thunder Bay, Windsor and their surrounding areas, Ontario
Access Communications Co-operative Limited	Regina (including White City), Saskatchewan
Atop Broadband Corp.	Majority of the Greater Toronto Area, Ontario
Bell Canada	Winnipeg and surrounding areas, Manitoba
Cogeco Connexion Inc.	Burlington, Hamilton/Stoney Creek, Kingston, Niagara Falls, Sarnia, St. Catharines and Windsor, Ontario
	Drummondville, Rimouski, Saint-Hyacinthe, Trois-Rivières and surrounding areas, Quebec
K-Right Communications Limited	Halifax and surrounding areas, Nova Scotia
Persona Communications Inc.	Sudbury, Ontario
Rogers Communications Canada Inc.	Allardville, Clair, Fredericton, Moncton, Rogersville, Saint John and surrounding areas, New Brunswick; Deer Lake, St. John's and surrounding areas, Newfoundland and Labrador
	Barrie, Hamilton, Kitchener, London, Newmarket, Oshawa, Ottawa, Toronto and surrounding areas, Ontario
Saskatchewan Telecommunications	Regina (which includes Pilot Butte and White City) and Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Shaw Cablesystems Limited	Calgary, Alberta
	Edmonton, Alberta
	Fort McMurray, Alberta
	Lethbridge, Alberta
	Red Deer, Alberta
	Coquitlam, British Columbia
	Duncan, British Columbia
	Kelowna, British Columbia
	Langford, British Columbia
	Nanaimo, British Columbia
	New Westminster, British Columbia
	Vancouver (North and West), British Columbia
	Vancouver (Richmond), British Columbia
	Victoria, British Columbia
	White Rock, British Columbia
	Winnipeg, Manitoba
	Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
	Thunder Bay, Ontario
	Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Shaw Cablesystems (VCI) Limited	Edmonton, Alberta
	Winnipeg, Manitoba

TELUS Communications Inc. <sup>1</sup>	Calgary, Edmonton (including St. Albert, Sherwood Park, Spruce Grove and Stony Plain), Fort McMurray, Grande Prairie and Red Deer, Alberta
	Kelowna, Nanaimo, Penticton, Prince George, Terrace, Vancouver (including Lower Mainland and Fraser Valley), Vernon and Victoria, British Columbia
Videotron Ltd. <sup>2</sup>	Gatineau (Aylmer, Gatineau, Hull) and surrounding areas, Quebec
	Granby, Quebec
	Québec and surrounding areas, Quebec
	Montréal, Quebec
	Montréal West, Quebec
	Saguenay (Chicoutimi), Quebec
	Sherbrooke, Quebec
	Terrebonne, Quebec

-

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> On 17 January 2018, the Commission approved the applications filed by TELUS Communications Inc. for authority to acquire the assets of TELUS Communications Company (TELUS Communications Inc. and 1219723 Alberta ULC in partnership with TELUS Communications Inc. in TELE-MOBILE Company, partners in a general partnership carrying on business as TELUS Communications Company) (*Various terrestrial broadcasting distribution undertakings, video on demand service and pay per view service – Corporate reorganization*, CRTC 2018-20, 17 January 2018).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> On 18 December 2017, the Commission approved an application filed by Videotron Ltd. for authority to acquire the assets of Videotron G.P. (Videotron Ltd. and 9227-2590 Québec inc., partners in a general partnership carrying on business as Videotron G.P.) (*Vidoetron G.P. – Acquisition of assets (corporate reorganization*), CRTC 2017-453, 18 December 2018).

#### **Appendix 2 to Broadcasting Decision CRTC 2018-182**

## Terrestrial broadcasting distribution undertakings for which the broadcasting licences will expire on 31 December 2018

Licensee name	Location
AEBC Internet Corp.	Vancouver and Lower Mainland, British Columbia
TELUS Communications Inc. <sup>1</sup>	Baie-Comeau, Gaspé, Montmagny, Mont-Tremblant, Sainte-Marie, Saint-Georges, Sept-Îles and surrounding areas, Quebec

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> On 17 January 2018, the Commission approved the applications filed by TELUS Communications Inc. for authority to acquire the assets of TELUS Communications Company (TELUS Communications Inc. and 1219723 Alberta ULC in partnership with TELUS Communications Inc. in TELE-MOBILE Company, partners in a general partnership carrying on business as TELUS Communications Company) (*Various terrestrial broadcasting distribution undertakings, video on demand service and pay per view service – Corporate reorganization*, Broadcasting Decision CRTC 2018-20, 17 January 2018).

### **Appendix 3 to Broadcasting Decision CRTC 2018-182**

# Terrestrial broadcasting distribution undertakings for which the broadcasting licences will expire on 31 August 2019

Licensee name	Location
Bell Canada	Chicoutimi, Drummondville (Centre-du-Québec region), Gatineau, Joliette (Lanaudière region), Jonquière, Montréal, Québec, Saint-Jérôme (Laurentides region), Sherbrooke, Trois-Rivières (Mauricie region) and their surrounding areas, Quebec
	Greater Sudbury, Hamilton/Niagara, Kingston, Kitchener, London, Oshawa, Ottawa, Peterborough, Sault Ste. Marie, Stratford, Toronto, Windsor and their surrounding areas, Ontario
	Fredericton and surrounding areas, Moncton and Saint John, New Brunswick; St. John's, Paradise and Mount Pearl, Newfoundland and Labrador; and Halifax, Dartmouth, Bedford and Sackville, Nova Scotia