Video Relay Service (VRS)

VRS is a basic telecommunications service that enables people with hearing or speech disabilities who use sign language to communicate with voice telephone users. The sign language user connects to a VRS operator using Internet-based videoconferencing. The operator then places a voice telephone call to the other party and relays the conversation from sign language to voice and vice-versa.

The Canadian Administrator of VRS launched the service on September 28, 2016. Canadians can register to the service through the SRV Canada VRS website.

9-1-1 services

A VRS user will be able to call 9-1-1 through the relay service during the hours of operation of the service. Emergency calls will be placed first in line for a VRS interpreter. The VRS interpreter will then connect the call to 9-1-1 responders and relay the emergency call.

During the periods where VRS is unavailable, users will need to use the existing alternative means of calling 9-1-1, for example, via TTY, IP relay, or text message where it is available and users have pre-registered.

To learn more about communicating with 9-1-1 call centres via text message, please visit the Text with 9-1-1 website.


SRV Canada VRS Frequently Asked Questions

Everything you need to know about using VRS, including availability, equipment you might need, costs, etc.

Board of Directors to Manage VRS

Information about the Canadian Administrator of VRS (CAV).

What we are doing

Date modified:

Service de relais vidéo (SRV)

Le SRV est un service de télécommunication de base qui permet aux personnes ayant un trouble d'audition ou de la parole d'utiliser le langage gestuel pour communiquer avec les utilisateurs des services téléphoniques vocaux. L'utilisateur du langage gestuel communique avec l'agent de relais du SRV au moyen des services de vidéoconférence Internet. L'agent de relais établit alors la communication téléphonique avec l'autre partie et assure le relais entre la communication gestuelle et la communication vocale, et vice versa.

L'administrateur canadien du SRV a lancé le service le 28 septembre 2016. Les inscriptions peuvent se faire à partir du site Web SRV Canada VRS.

Services 9-1-1

L’utilisateur du SRV pourra appeler au 9-1-1 à l’aide du service de relais durant les heures de service. Les appels d’urgence seront attribués en priorité aux agents de relais du SRV. L’agent de relais du SRV communiquera alors avec les intervenants du 9-1-1 et transmettra l’appel d’urgence.

Durant les heures où le SRV n’est pas offert, les utilisateurs devront utiliser les autres moyens existants pour appeler au 9-1-1, par exemple, le service de relais par téléscripteur ou IP, ou encore la messagerie texte, lorsqu’un tel service est offert et que l’utilisateur y est déjà inscrit.

Pour en savoir plus sur la façon de communiquer avec les centres d’appels 9-1-1 par messages textes, veuillez consulter le site Web Texto au 9-1-1.

Sujets

Foire aux questions SRV Canada VRS

Tout savoir sur le SRV, notamment la façon de l'utiliser, la disponibilité, l'équipement nécessaire, les coûts, etc.

Conseil d'administration chargé de gérer le SRV

Renseignements sur l'administrateur canadien du SRV (ACS).

Ce que nous faisons

Date de modification :