The Martels: Cast

Family portrait of The Martels

Who are the Martels?

Han and David, both in their early forties, are married with three children; Sebastien (14), Charlotte (13) and Romy (7). Han is Chinese-Canadian and her husband is half French Canadian, half Jamaican. A truly mixed blend of cultures came together when they met and is reflected in the varied shades and features of their offspring. The couple has a busy home life and a full house. Not only do all three children live at home, along with their cat named Mou, but Han and David have also made room for David’s aging father who lives in their in-law suite on the main floor of their two-story home.

Profile Picture of Han

Han
Mom, Career Woman/Phone Addict

Han is a real estate agent who is permanently attached to either her laptop, her tablet or her phone. These are her lifelines; helping her to stay on top of her appointments, her clients, her colleagues and her kids. She’s on-the-go at odd hours and on weekends, but she’s a pretty typical, busy working mom. Being connected is at the top of her must-have-no-matter-what list.

“Where's my phone? I know it’s here somewhere… ”

Profile Picture of David

David
Dad, Blogger, Foodie

David is an instructor in the culinary arts at the local community college. Cooking is his passion, so much so that he started a food blog where he posts photographs of his latest dinner creations … or at least he tries his best to post them. David’s far from being technologically advanced, but he’s stubbornly determined to figure it out on his own.

“Honey, where’s the spatula? I’m working on my blog… (<p>I think I got this HTML down…</p>)”

Profile Picture of Romy

Romy
Youngest, #nonbinary

Romy is the baby of the family, at seven-years-old. Romy loves movies, especially binge watching movie-after-movie, then acting them out, even if nobody’s paying any attention. Romy’s got a flare for the dramatic and an opinion about almost everything – especially when it comes to gender identity. Romy’s not into being labeled or defined.

“Hey! Look! Watch me dance!”

Profile Picture of Charlie

“Charlie” (Charlotte)
Middle Child, MVP of everything

Charlotte, nicknamed Charlie, is thirteen and she’s the MVP of everything. She’s all about sports, sports and, oh yeah, sports. When she’s not streaming sports on her tablet or sharing her latest game highlights on social media or texting her friends about practice schedules, she’s tracking her steps and her stats with her wearable fitness activity tracker.

“CRUSH THEMMMMM”

Profile Picture of Sebastien

Sebastien
Oldest Child, Technophile

Sebastien is fourteen. He’s a tech savvy, self-taught computer nerd who designs and builds computers for kicks. Due to a childhood muscular disorder, he’s in a wheelchair. Sebastien is continually modifying and souping up the electronics of his wheelchair with the help of his extensive network of online geek-forum pals.

“Hold on one second, I'm just fixing this...”

Profile Picture of Olivier

Olivier
Grandpa, News Junkie

Olivier is David’s French-Canadian father. At 75, he’s a widower and a retired military man who’s on a mission to get up to speed on all this new fangled technology. He might be a little out of touch and every so often way too trusting and gullible, but he’s an avid news junkie, so he’s not giving up. Olivier wants to stay informed about what’s going on in the world, so Sebastien is his go-to tech support when his tablet “goes all funny”.

“You kids and your toys – back in my day…”

Profile Picture of Mou

Mou
Cat, Professonal Napper

Mou is a one-of-a-kind cat. Nobody really knows where Mou came from: Romy found him on an animal rescue site and fell in love instantly – they’re besties and Mou-vie lovers. The Martels brought him in and have loved him as one of their own ever since. He’s a cheeky fella that loves napping on laptops, and in sunbeams, boxes, slippers – anywhere! If he fits, he sits. He watches over the Martels and joins them on their daily adventures.

“Meowvies are my fav”

Date modified:

Les Martel : Distribution

Portrait de famille des Martel

Qui sont les Martel?

Han et David ont tous deux la quarantaine. Ils sont mariés et ont trois enfants : Sebastien (14 ans), Charlotte (13 ans) et Romy (7 ans). Han une Canadienne d’origine chinoise et son mari, David, est moitié Canadien-Français et moitié Jamaïcain. Leur rencontre a créé un véritable mélange de cultures et cela se voit également dans leurs rejetons dont les traits reflètent bien la diversité de leurs ancêtres. Le couple possède une maison bourdonnante d’activité et occupée de la cave au grenier. Non seulement, les trois enfants vivent à la maison, avec leur chat qu’ils ont appelé Mou, mais Han et David ont réservé une place au vieux père de David, qui a ses appartements au rez-de-chaussée de leur maison à deux étages.

Photo de profil de Han

Han
Mère, professionnelle ambitieuse, accro au téléphone intelligent

Han est agente immobilière et elle ne quitte pas son portable, sa tablette ou son téléphone. Ce sont ses auxiliaires qui l’aident à faire son travail, à mener ses relations avec ses clients et ses collègues et, bien sûr à s’occuper de sa famille. Elle travaille à toutes heures et les week-ends, mais c’est une mère assez typique, qui essaie de concilier sa vie professionnelle et sa vie familiale. Rester branché est pour elle une nécessité absolue.

« Avez-vous vu mon téléphone? Il devrait se trouver dans cette pièce… »

Photo de profil de David

David
Père, blogueur, amateur de bonne bouffe

David est instructeur en arts culinaires au collège professionnel local. La cuisine est sa passion, à tel point qu’il écrit un blogue sur l’alimentation dans lequel il affiche des photographies de ses dernières créations culinaires ou, du moins, il fait de son mieux pour les afficher. David n’a pas de grandes connaissances techniques, mais il s’efforce obstinément de tout comprendre sans l’aide de quiconque.

« Chérie, où est rangée la spatule? Je suis en train de mettre mon blogue à jour… (<p>Je crois que je maîtrise enfin le HTML…</p>) »

Photo de profil de Romy

Romy
Benjamin, #nonbinaire

Romy est le bébé de la famille. Romy a sept ans. Romy adore le cinéma et peut regarder plusieurs films l’un après l’autre. Ensuite, Romy refait les gestes et reprend les répliques des personnages même si personne ne regarde. Romy a le chic pour le dramatique et une opinion sur à peu près tout ce qui existe, en particulier s’il s’agit d’identité de genre. Romy ne veut pas se faire définir ou étiqueter.

« Hé! Regardez-moi danser! »

Photo de profil de Charlie

“Charlie” (Charlotte)
Cadette, joueuse la plus utile dans tout

Charlotte, que tout le monde appelle Charlie, a treize ans et elle excelle dans tous les sports. Ses passe-temps sont le sport, le sport et... le sport. Quand elle ne regarde pas des événements sportifs sur sa tablette ou qu’elle n’affiche pas des exploits sportifs sur les réseaux sociaux, elle compte ses pas et compile ses statistiques personnelles au moyen de son bracelet moniteur d’activité physique.

« ÉCRASEZ-LES!!!!! »

Photo de profil de Sebastien

Sebastien
Aîné, technophile

Sebastien a quatorze ans. Il connaît bien la technologie. C’est un expert autodidacte en informatique qui a pour passe-temps de concevoir et d’assembler des ordinateurs. En raison d’une affection musculaire contractée durant l’enfance, il est en fauteuil roulant. Sebastien passe son temps à modifier et améliorer les parties électroniques de son fauteuil roulant avec l’aide de son vaste réseau de correspondants maniaques de la technologie sur Internet.

« Attends une seconde; je dois réparer ça... »

Photo de profil d'Olivier

Olivier
Grand-père, accro aux nouvelles

Olivier est le père Canadien-Français de David. Olivier est un veuf de 75 ans. Ancien militaire, il s’est donné pour mission de venir à bout de toutes ces nouvelles technologies à la mode. Il est peut-être un peu dépassé et parfois un peu trop confiant et crédule, mais il suit l’actualité avec assiduité et n’abandonne pas. Il veut rester au courant de ce qui se passe dans le monde et Sebastien assure le soutien technique quand sa tablette « fait des trucs bizarres ».

« Vous et vos jouets. Quand j’avais votre âge… »

Photo de profil de Mou

Mou
Chat, dormeur professionnel

Mou est un chat unique. Personne ne sait d’où il vient. Romy l’a trouvé sur le site Web d’un refuge pour animaux et a eu un coup de foudre. Ils sont les meilleurs amis du monde et raffolent des films. Les Martel l’ont adopté et il fait maintenant partie de la famille. C’est un chat espiègle qui aime beaucoup faire la sieste sur les portables, devant un rayon de soleil, dans des boîtes, dans des pantoufles. Partout! S’il y a de la place, il s’y installe. Il veille sur les Martel et participe à leurs aventures quotidiennes.

« J’aime le cinémiaou! »

Date de modification :