Wholesale Code

On 24 September 2015, the Commission issued The Wholesale Code. It sets out provisions that govern the commercial arrangements between broadcasting undertakings and should be consulted during negotiations. The Commission will apply the Wholesale Code in resolving broadcasting related disputes.

What does this Mean for You?

All licensees must request dispute resolution from the Commission 120 days before the expiry of any affiliation agreement. Parties that are negotiating lapsed or expired affiliation agreements, or some other form of agreement, must also request dispute resolution from the Commission.

Licensed Broadcasting Distribution Undertakings (BDUs) must file copies of your affiliation agreements 10 days after their execution. Exempt BDUs may choose to do so.

How to File Affiliation Agreements?

Submit executed affiliation agreements via GCKey. Clearly identify each as an "affiliation agreement" and mark as "confidential".

How to File a Request for Dispute Resolution?

Request staff-assisted mediation, final offer arbitration, or an expedited hearing via GCKey. Address your request to "Senior Manager, Alternative Dispute Resolution, Broadcasting" via GCKey or by email, quoting file number "ADR-120." Clearly identify the nature of your dispute and state the rationale for the chosen dispute resolution mechanism. Requests for staff-assisted mediation can also be filed directly by email.

What if Negotiations are Going Well, and We Don't Need Dispute Resolution?

You must still request dispute resolution. However, if both parties agree that negotiations are progressing well, you can write to us setting out the reasons why you believe Commission involvement is not required at the time. Address your request to "Senior Manager, Alternative Dispute Resolution, Broadcasting" via GCKey or by email, quoting file number "ADR-120."

Q & As

Does the Wholesale Code apply to me?

If you are a licensed undertaking, the Code is legally binding on you. If you are an exempt undertaking, or a U.S. Service, the Code applies as a guideline.

When do I have to file for mandatory (120-day) dispute resolution?

Where parties are negotiating expired or lapsed agreements, or other forms of agreement, they must file for dispute resolution 120 days before the expiry of your agreement (e.g., for an agreement expiring 31 August 2016, you must file by 3 May 2016).

How do I file for mandatory dispute resolution?

Address 120-day filings to "Senior Manager, Alternative Dispute Resolution, Broadcasting" via GCKey or email, quoting file number "ADR-120".

Where can I get more information on the Commission's approaches to dispute resolution?

Refer to Information Bulletin 2013-637. Or for the different dispute resolution mechanisms, refer to the Webguide on DR.

Related Documents

Date modified:

Code sur la vente en gros

Le Conseil a publié le Code sur la vente en gros (le Code) le 24 septembre 2015. Le Code énonce les dispositions qui régissent les ententes commerciales entre entreprises de radiodiffusion, à consulter au cours de négociations. Le Conseil appliquera le Code sur la vente en gros pour résoudre les litiges associés à la radiodiffusion.

Qu'est-ce que cela signifie pour vous?

Tous les titulaires doivent demande le règlement de différends par le Conseil 120 jours avant l'expiration d'une entente d'affiliation. Les parties qui une entente d'affiliation expirée ou caduque ou un autre type d'entente doivent aussi demander le règlement de différends par le Conseil.

Les entreprises de distribution de radiodiffusion (EDR) titulaires doivent déposer des copies de vos ententes d'affiliation dans les dix jours de leur signature. Les EDR exemptées peuvent aussi choisir de déposer leurs ententes d'affiliation.

Comment déposer les ententes d'affiliation?

Déposez les ententes d'affiliation signées au moyen de la CléGC. Indiquez clairement qu'il s'agit d'une « entente d'affiliation », déposée à titre confidentiel.

Comment déposer une demande de règlement d'un différend?

Demandez la médiation assistée par le personnel, l'arbitrage de l'offre finale ou une audience accélérée au moyen de la CléGC. Envoyez votre demande à « Gestionnaire principal, Règlement extrajudiciaire des différends, Radiodiffusion », au moyen de la CléGC ou par courriel, en indiquant le numéro de dossier « ADR-120 ». Indiquez clairement la nature du différend et justifiez le mécanisme de résolution sélectionné. Vous pouvez demander la médiation assistée par le personnel directement par courriel.

Que se passe-t-il si les négociations vont bon train et que le règlement de différends n'est pas requis?

Vous devez quand même demander le règlement de différends. Par contre, si les deux parties sont d'accord que les négociations avancent bien, vous pouvez nous écrire pour expliquer pourquoi vous croyez que la participation du Conseil n'est pas requise pour l'instant. Envoyez votre demande à « Gestionnaire principal, Règlement extrajudiciaire des différends, Radiodiffusion », au moyen de la CléGC ou par courriel, en indiquant le numéro de dossier « ADR-120 ».

Questions et réponses

Le Code sur la vente en gros s'applique-t-il à ma situation?

Si vous êtes une entreprise autorisée, le Code a force exécutive. Si vous êtes une entreprise exemptée, ou un service des États-Unis, le Code a valeur de lignes directrices.

Quand dois-je déposer ma demande de règlement obligatoire de différends (règle des 120 jours)?

Les parties qui négocient des ententes expirées ou caduques, ou un autre type d'entente, doivent déposer une demande de règlement de différends 120 jours avant l'expiration de l'entente (p. ex, si une entente expire le 31 août 2016, vous devez déposer la demande au plus tard le 3 mai 2016).

Comment dois-je déposer la demande de règlement de différends obligatoire?

Transmettre les demandes en vertu de la règle des 120 jours à « Gestionnaire principal, Règlement extrajudiciaire des différends, Radiodiffusion », au moyen de la CléGC ou par courriel, en indiquant le numéro de dossier « ADR-120 ».

Comment puis-je obtenir d'autres renseignements au sujet des méthodes de règlement de différends du Conseil?

Consultez le bulletin d'information 2013-637. Pour en savoir plus au sujet des mécanismes de règlement extrajudiciaire des différends, consulter le guide Web sur le règlement des différends.

Documents connexes

Date de modification :