Broadcasting Information Bulletin CRTC 2014-608

PDF version

Ottawa, 21 November 2014

Update on the Commission’s approach to non-compliance by radio stations

This information bulletin provides an update on the Commission’s approach for dealing with non-compliance by radio stations with the requirements of the Broadcasting Act, the Radio Regulations, 1986 and their conditions of licence in the context of an application for licence renewal or amendment. It replaces Broadcasting Information Bulletin 2011-347.

The Commission reminds radio station licensees that they must comply at all times with the requirements set out in the Broadcasting Act, the Radio Regulations, 1986 and their conditions of licence.

Introduction

  1. The Commission’s assessment of a radio licensee’s compliance is generally based on complaints received, monitoring of programming, ownership requirements, contributions to Canadian content development (CCD) and the filing of annual returns. The Commission reviews the compliance record of each station during a licence term when it considers the renewal of the station’s licence, or, in some cases, when licence amendments are proposed.
  2. The Commission had set out its approach to dealing with non-compliance in Broadcasting Information Bulletin 2011-347. In Broadcasting Regulatory Policy 2014-554 (Targeted radio policy review), the Commission stated that it would adopt additional measures related to non-compliance.
  3. Accordingly, the Commission hereby updates the approach to radio non-compliance set out in Broadcasting Information Bulletin 2011-347 to reflect the new initiatives adopted in the Targeted radio policy review. The Commission’s updated approach to radio non-compliance is set out below.

Approach to non-compliance

  1. Licensees of radio stations must comply at all times with the requirements set out in the Broadcasting Act (the Act), the Radio Regulations, 1986 (the Regulations) and their conditions of licence. When applying for licence renewal or amendments, it is the licensee’s responsibility to demonstrate that it is in full compliance with its regulatory obligations.
  2. Licensees will have the opportunity to comment in writing on the Commission’s preliminary findings concerning instances of apparent non-compliance. When considering applications for licence renewal or amendments, the Commission will question licensees on the circumstances related to the non-compliance and the action that they have taken to remedy the situation.
  3. Following the licence renewal public proceeding, the Commission will impose measures according to the nature of the non-compliance. Each instance of non-compliance will be evaluated in its context and in light of factors such as the quantity, recurrence and seriousness of the non-compliance. The Commission will also consider the circumstances, the arguments provided by the licensee, as well as the actions taken to rectify the situation.
  4. In the case of licence renewals, the Commission may apply the following measures on a case-by-case basis depending on the nature of the non-compliance:
    • short-term licence renewal;
    • imposing conditions of licence;
    • requiring additional CCD contributions that are over and above those required by the Regulations or by existing conditions of licence;
    • removing the ability to make CCD contributions to discretionary initiatives such as talent contests;Footnote 1
    • requiring licensees to broadcast an announcement regarding their non-compliance, as set out in the appendix to this information bulletin;
    • imposing mandatory orders;
    • non-renewal of the licence;
    • suspension of the licence;
    • revocation the licence.
  5. When considering applications for licence amendments, the Commission will take into account the criteria set out above, i.e., the quantity, recurrence and seriousness of the non-compliance, as well as the relationship between the application for amendment and any instance of non-compliance. For example, the Commission could deny an application for an amendment to programming requirements by a licensee that is in non-compliance with its required level of Canadian musical selections.
  6. The need to call a licensee to a public hearing will also be determined based on the circumstances, the above-mentioned criteria and the licensee’s response to instances of non-compliance. It should be noted that, at any time during a licence term, the Commission can call a licensee to a hearing following a complaint received during the licence term, or on its own motion in response to other regulatory issues. The Commission could then impose the above-mentioned measures on the licensee as it deems appropriate.
  7. Annual returns, which are due on 30 November of each broadcast year, must be submitted in proper form and must include the necessary supporting documentation. Licensees can find further information concerning the filing of annual returns in Broadcasting Information Bulletin 2011-795.
  8. The Commission will also publish annual lists of stations in compliance and in non-compliance.

Related documents

Secretary General

Appendix to Broadcasting Information Bulletin CRTC-608

Announcement to be broadcast on-air when required by the Commission

Radio frequencies are a limited public resource. Holding a broadcasting licence is a privilege, and broadcasters are required to abide by a number of regulations and conditions of licence in order to operate a radio station.

In Broadcasting Decision 201X-XX, the CRTC determined this station is in non-compliance with the Radio Regulations, 1986 / its condition(s) of licence. The instance(s) of non-compliance occurred in 201X and is/are a recurring issue. (Station call letters) has put measures in place to ensure that the non-compliance in question does not reoccur.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

In such cases the Commission may require that all CCD contributions for the station be made to funds such as FACTOR, MUSICACTION or the Community Radio Fund of Canada.

Return to footnote 1

Date modified:

Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion CRTC 2014-608

Version PDF

Ottawa, le 21 novembre 2014

Mise à jour de l’approche du Conseil relative à la non-conformité des stations de radio

Le présent bulletin d’information constitue une mise à jour de l’approche du Conseil lorsqu’il renouvelle ou modifie la licence d’une station de radio en situation de non-conformité quant aux exigences de la Loi sur la radiodiffusion, au Règlement de 1986 sur la radio ou à ses conditions de licence. Ce bulletin remplace le bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion 2011-347.

Le Conseil rappelle aux titulaires de stations de radio qu’ils doivent respecter en tout temps les exigences énoncées dans la Loi sur la radiodiffusion, le Règlement de 1986 sur la radio et leurs conditions de licence.

Introduction

  1. Pour évaluer la conformité d’un titulaire d’une station de radio, le Conseil se base généralement sur les plaintes reçues, les vérifications relatives à la programmation, les exigences en matière de propriété, les contributions au titre du développement du contenu canadien (DCC), ainsi que sur le dépôt des rapports annuels. Le Conseil examine le dossier de conformité de chaque station pour sa période de licence au moment de renouveler la licence et, parfois, quand des modifications sont proposées.
  2. Le Conseil a fait part de son approche pour traiter les situations de non-conformité dans le bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion 2011-347. Dans la politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion 2014-554 (la révision ciblée des politiques sur la radio), le Conseil a indiqué qu’il adopterait des mesures additionnelles en matière de non-conformité.
  3. Par la présente, le Conseil met donc à jour l’approche à la non-conformité de stations de radio énoncée dans le bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion 2011-347 afin de refléter les nouvelles mesures adoptées dans la révision ciblée des politiques sur la radio. Les mises à jour de l’approche du Conseil relative à la non-conformité sont énoncées ci-dessous.

Approche à la non-conformité

  1. Les titulaires de stations de radio doivent en tout temps respecter les exigences énoncées dans la Loi sur la radiodiffusion (la Loi), le Règlement de 1986 sur la radio (le Règlement) et leurs conditions de licence. Il incombe au titulaire de démontrer qu’il a respecté ses obligations réglementaires lorsqu’il dépose une demande de renouvellement ou de modifications de licence.
  2. Les titulaires auront l’occasion de commenter par écrit les résultats préliminaires du Conseil quant aux instances de non-conformité possible. Lorsque le Conseil examinera les demandes de renouvellement ou de modification de licence, il interrogera les titulaires sur les circonstances entourant l’instance de non-conformité et les mesures prises par ceux-ci pour corriger la situation.
  3. Au terme d’un processus public concernant un renouvellement de licence, le Conseil imposera des mesures correspondant à la nature de la non-conformité. Chaque instance de non-conformité sera évaluée dans son contexte et selon des facteurs tels que la quantité, la récurrence et la gravité de la non-conformité. Le Conseil tiendra également compte des circonstances, des arguments fournis par le titulaire, ainsi que des mesures prises par celui-ci pour corriger la situation.
  4. Dans le cas des renouvellements de licence, le Conseil pourra adopter l’une des mesures suivantes, dépendamment de la nature de la non-conformité analysée au cas par cas :
    • renouveler la licence pour une période de courte durée;
    • imposer des conditions de licence;
    • exiger le versement de contributions additionnelles au titre du DCC, qui sont excédentaires à celles exigées dans le Règlement ou par condition de licence;
    • supprimer le pouvoir de verser des contributions au titre du DCC à des projets discrétionnaires comme des concours de talentsRetour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1;
    • obliger le titulaire à lire en ondes le texte qui fait part de sa non-conformité, tel qu’énoncé à l’annexe du présent bulletin d’information;
    • imposer une ordonnance;
    • ne pas renouveler la licence;
    • suspendre la licence;
    • révoquer la licence.
  5. Lorsque le Conseil examinera une demande de modification de licence, il tiendra compte des facteurs susmentionnés (soit la quantité, la récurrence et la gravité de la non-conformité) ainsi que le lien entre la demande et toute instance de non-conformité. Par exemple, le Conseil pourrait refuser une demande d’un titulaire afin de modifier ses exigences en matière de programmation si ce dernier est en situation de non-conformité quant au pourcentage requis de pièces musicales canadiennes.
  1. La nécessité de convoquer un titulaire à une audience publique sera également déterminée en fonction des circonstances, des facteurs susmentionnés et de la réponse du titulaire quant aux instances de non-conformité. Il convient de noter que le Conseil peut, à tout moment au cours d’une période de licence, convoquer un titulaire à une audience à la suite d’une plainte reçue, ou de sa propre initiative face à d’autres enjeux de réglementation. Le Conseil pourra alors imposer l’une des mesures susmentionnées au titulaire s’il le juge approprié.
  1. Les rapports annuels, qui sont dus le 30 novembre de chaque année de radiodiffusion, doivent être déposés en bonne et due forme et inclure les pièces justificatives nécessaires. Les titulaires peuvent obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le dépôt des rapports annuels dans le bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion 2011-795.
  1. Le Conseil publiera chaque année une liste des stations de radio en conformité et une liste de stations en non-conformité.

Documents connexes

Secrétaire général

Annexe au bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion CRTC 2014-608

Annonce devant être diffusée sur les ondes lorsque le Conseil l’exige 

Les fréquences radio sont une ressource publique limitée. Parce que détenir une licence de radiodiffusion est un privilège, les radiodiffuseurs sont tenus de respecter un certain nombre de règlements et de conditions de licence pour pouvoir exploiter une station de radio.

Dans la décision de radiodiffusion 201X-XX, le CRTC a déterminé que cette station se trouvait en situation de non-conformité à l’égard du Règlement de 1986 sur la radio / de (l’une de) ses conditions de licence. L’instance (les instances) de non-conformité s’est produite (se sont produites) en 201X et il s’agit d’un problème récurrent. (Indicatif d’appel de la station) a pris des mesures pour s’assurer que cette situation de non-conformité ne se reproduise plus.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Dans un tel cas, le Conseil pourra exiger que toutes les contributions de la station au titre du DCC soient faites à des fonds comme la FACTOR, MUSICACTION ou le Fonds canadien de la radio communautaire.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Date de modification :