Notices of Violation 2014

CRTC staff has issued a notice of violation to the following persons with regard to the application of the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules or Canada’s Anti-Spam Law.

Date Person subject to the Notice of violation Description
August  19 2014 Thrift Magic LP The Compliance and Enforcement Sector has issued a notice of violation to Thrift Magic LP with an accompanying administrative monetary penalty of $250,000 for having made unsolicited telecommunications to consumers whose telephone numbers were on the National Do Not Call List (National DNCL).  These calls were initiated while Thrift Magic LP did not have a valid registration or subscription with the National DNCL Operator resulting in violations of Part II, section 4, Part II, section 6 and Part III, section 2 of the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules.  In addition to paying an administrative monetary penalty, Thrift Magic LP has agreed to implement a compliance program.
August 13, 2014 Alberta Federation of Labour Alberta Federation of Labour (AFL) has paid a penalty of $50,000 as part of a settlement over violations of Part IV, sub-section 4d) of the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules.  A CRTC investigation found that the AFL made unsolicited telecommunications using an Automatic Dialing-Announcing Device (ADAD) without providing a telephone number and mailing address where the telecommunication originator could be reached. In addition to paying an administrative monetary penalty, the AFL agreed to implement a compliance program.
July 22, 2014 Québec Loisirs ULC Québec Loisirs has paid a $200,000 penalty for having made telemarketing telecommunications to consumers whose telecommunications numbers were registered on the National Do Not Call List (DNCL), resulting in violations of Part II, section 4 of the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules. These telecommunications also resulted in violations of Part II, section 6 of the Rules, for failing to subscribe to the National DNCL and to pay all applicable fees to the National DNCL Operator. In addition to paying an administrative monetary penalty, Quebec Loisirs agreed to implement a compliance program.
June 9, 2014 Suitelife Vacations Club Inc. Suitelife has paid a $20,000 penalty for violating the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules. A CRTC investigation found that Suitelife made telemarketing calls while it was not registered with the National Do Not Call List (DNCL) operator, had not subscribed to the National DNCL, and had not paid all the applicable fees, resulting in telemarketing telecommunications made to consumers’ numbers that were registered on the National DNCL. Suitelife also failed to do not call requests from consumers at the time of the calls. In addition to paying an administrative monetary penalty, Suitelife has agreed to implement a compliance program.
June 6, 2014 Ecosmart Home Services Inc. Ecosmart Home Services Inc. has paid a $20,000 penalty for violating the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules. A CRTC investigation found that Ecosmart Home Services Inc. made telemarketing calls while it was not registered with the National Do Not Call List (DNCL) operator, had not subscribed to the National DNCL, and had not paid all the applicable fees, resulting in telemarketing telecommunications made to consumers’ numbers that were registered on the National DNCL.
May 28, 2014 The Home Comfort Group Inc. The Home Comfort Group Inc. has paid a $50,000 penalty for violating the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules. A CRTC investigation found that The Home Comfort Group Inc. made telemarketing calls while it was not registered with the National Do Not Call List (DNCL) operator, had not subscribed to the National DNCL, and had not paid all the applicable fees, resulting in telemarketing telecommunications made to consumers’ numbers that were registered on the National DNCL.  In addition, The Home Comfort Group Inc. failed to use a version of the National DNCL obtained from the National DNCL Operator no more than 31 days prior to the date the telemarketing telecommunications were made. 
May 28, 2014 Loyal Seal Windows and Doors Inc. Loyal Seal has paid a $10,000 penalty for violating the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules. A CRTC investigation found that Loyal Seal made telemarketing calls while it was not registered with the National Do Not Call List (DNCL) operator, had not subscribed to the National DNCL, and had not paid all the applicable fees, resulting in telemarketing telecommunications made to consumers’ numbers that were registered on the National DNCL. In addition to paying an administrative monetary penalty, Loyal Seal has agreed to implement a compliance program.
April 30, 2014 Brian Jones Brian Jones has paid a penalty of $4,000 as part of a settlement over violations of Part II, sections 4 and 6, and Part III, section 2 of the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules (the Rules).  A CRTC investigation found that Brian Jones initiated unsolicited telemarketing telecommunications to consumers whose telephone numbers were registered on the National Do Not Call List (National DNCL) while not being a registered subscriber of the National DNCL and having paid all applicable fees to the National DNCL operator in violation of Part II, section 6 and Part III, section 2 of the Rules.
April 16, 2014 iQor Canada Ltd. CRTC staff has issued a notice of violation to iQor Canada Ltd. with an accompanying administrative monetary penalty of $237,500 for having made unsolicited telecommunications, using an Automatic Dialing-Announcing Device (ADAD) resulting in violations of Part IV, section 4(b), (c) and (d) of the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules.  A CRTC investigation found that iQor initiated unsolicited telecommunications using an ADAD outside the permissible calling hours and did not provide the name of the person on whose behalf the telecommunication was made and a mailing address and a local or toll-free telephone number where the telecommunication originator could be reached.
April 7, 2014 Northview Windows and Doors Inc. Northview Windows and Doors Inc. has paid a penalty of $37,500 as part of a settlement over violations of Part II, sections 4, 6 and 13 and Part III, section 2 of the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules. A CRTC investigation found that Northview Windows and Doors Inc. made telemarketing calls while it was neither registered nor subscribed with the National Do Not Call List (DNCL) Operator and had not paid applicable fees, and while it had used a version of the National DNCL older than 31 days. This resulted in telemarketing telecommunications made to consumers’ numbers that were registered on the National DNCL. In addition to paying an administrative monetary penalty, Northview Windows and Doors Inc. agreed to implement a compliance program.
April 7, 2014 NorthShield Windows and Doors Inc. NorthShield Windows and Doors Inc. has paid a penalty of $15,000 as part of a settlement over violations of Part II, sections 4 and 6 of the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules. A CRTC investigation found that NorthShield Windows and Doors Inc. made telemarketing calls while it was not subscribed and paid all the applicable fees to the National Do Not Call List Operator. This resulted in telemarketing telecommunications made to consumers’ numbers that were registered on the National DNCL. In addition to paying an administrative monetary penalty, NorthShield Windows and Doors Inc. agreed to implement a compliance program.
January 9, 2014 1051080 Ontario Inc. (the Turf Operations Group) 10501080 Ontario Inc., on behalf of itself and certain subsidiaries (the Turf Operations Group) has paid a penalty of $200,000, as part of a settlement over violations of the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules. A CRTC investigation found that 1051080 Ontario Inc. and its subsidiaries, Weed Man Ottawa, Weed Man Montreal, Turf Operations Hamilton, Weed Man Scarborough and Weed Man Surrey, made telemarketing telecommunications to consumers’ numbers that were registered on the National DNCL, or should have been on the Turf Operations Group’s internal do not call lists. In addition to paying an administrative monetary penalty, the Turf Operations Group has agreed to implement a compliance program.
Date modified:

Procès-verbal de violation 2014

Le personnel du CRTC a émis un procès-verbal de violation aux personnes suivantes en ce qui concerne l'application des Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées ou de la Loi canadienne anti-pourriel.

Date Personne faisant l'objet d'un procès-verbal Description
19 août 2014 Thrift Magic LP Le Secteur de la conformité et des enquêtes a émis un avis de violation à Thrift Magic LP accompagnée d’une sanction administrative pécuniaire de 250 000$ dollars pour avoir fait des télécommunications non sollicitées à des consommateurs dont les numéros de téléphone sont inscrits sur ​​la liste nationale de numéros de télécommunication exclus (LNNTE). Ces appels ont été effectués alors que Thrift Magic LP n'était pas inscrit auprès de l’administrateur de la liste et n’avait pas d'abonnement valide, provoquant des violations de la partie II, article 4, partie II, article 6 et de la partie III, article 2 des Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées.  En plus de payer une sanction administrative pécuniaire, Thrift Magic LP a accepte de mettre en place un programme de conformité.
13 août 2014 Alberta federation du travail Alberta fédération du travail (AFT) a payé une amende de 50 000 $ dans le cadre d’une négociation concernant des violations du paragraphe IV, sous-alinéa 4d) des Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées. Une enquête du CRTC a révélé que l’AFT a effectué télécommunications non sollicitées en utilisant un composeur-messager automatique (CMA) sans avoir fourni un numéro de téléphone ainsi qu’une adresse permettant de rejoindre un représentant de l’auteur du message.  En plus de payer une sanction administrative pécuniaire, l’AFT a accepté de mettre en place un programme de conformité.
22 juillet 2014 Québec Loisirs ULC Québec Loisirs a payé une amende de 200 000 $ pour avoir effectué des télécommunications de télémarketing à l’endroit de consommateurs dont le numéro de télécommunication était inscrit sur la Liste national de numéros de télécommunication exclus (la LNNTE), provoquant des violations du paragraphe II, article 4 des Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées. En raison de ces télécommunications, Québec Loisirs a également commis des violations de l’article 6 de la partie II des Règles pour avoir omis de s’abonner à la LNNTE et de payer les frais applicables à l’administrateur de la LNNTE. En plus de payer une sanction administrative pécuniaire, Québec Loisirs a accepté de mettre en place un programme de conformité.
9 juin 2014 Suitelife Vacations Club Inc. Suitelife a payé une amende de 20 000 $ pour avoir enfreint les Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées. Une enquête du CRTC a révélé que Suitelife a effectué des appels de télémarketing alors qu’elle n’était pas inscrite auprès de l’administrateur de la Liste nationale de numéros de télécommunication exclus (LNNTE), n’avait pas d’abonnement à la LNNTE et n’avait pas payé tous les frais applicable, résultant en des télécommunications de télémarketing faites à des numéros de consommateurs inscrits sur la LNNTE. Suitelife a également omis de respecter les demandes des consommateurs de ne pas être appelés au moment des appels. En plus de payer une sanction administrative pécuniaire, Suitelife a accepté de mettre en place un programme de conformité.
6 juin 2014 Ecosmart Home Services Inc. Ecosmart Home Services Inc. a payé une amende de 20 000 $ pour avoir enfreint les Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées. Une enquête du CRTC a révélé que Ecosmart Home Services Inc. a effectué des appels de télémarketing alors qu’elle n’était pas inscrite auprès de l’administrateur de la Liste nationale de numéros de télécommunication exclus (LNNTE), n’avait pas d’abonnement à la LNNTE et n’avait pas payé tous les frais applicable, résultant en des télécommunications de télémarketing faites à des numéros de consommateurs inscrits sur la LNNTE.
28 mai 2014 The Home Comfort Group Inc. The Home Comfort Group Inc. a payé une amende de 50 000 $ pour avoir enfreint les Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées. Une enquête du CRTC a révélé que The Home Comfort Group Inc. a effectué des appels de télémarketing alors qu’elle n’était pas inscrite auprès de l’administrateur de la Liste nationale de numéros de télécommunication exclus (LNNTE), n’avait pas d’abonnement à la LNNTE et n’avait pas payé tous les frais applicable, résultant en des télécommunications de télémarketing faites à des numéros de consommateurs inscrits sur la LNNTE.  En plus The Home Comfort Group Inc. a omis de se servir de la version de la LNNTE obtenue par l’administrateur de la LNNTE à moins de 31 jours avant la date que les télécommunications ont été faites.
28 mai 2014 Loyal Seal Windows and Doors Inc. Loyal Seal a payé une amende de 10 000 $ pour avoir enfreint les Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées. Une enquête du CRTC a révélé que Loyal Seal a effectué des appels de télémarketing alors qu’elle n’était pas inscrite auprès de l’administrateur de la Liste nationale de numéros de télécommunication exclus (LNNTE), n’avait pas d’abonnement à la LNNTE et n’avait pas payé tous les frais applicable, résultant en des télécommunications de télémarketing faites à des numéros de consommateurs inscrits sur la LNNTE. En plus de payer une sanction administrative pécuniaire, Loyal Seal a accepté de mettre en place un programme de conformité.
30 avril 2014 Brian Jones Brian Jones a payé une amende de 4 000 $ dans le cadre d’une négociation concernant des violations des articles 4 et 6 de la partie II et de l’article 2 de la partie III des Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées. Une enquête du CRTC a révélé que Brian Jones a effectué des appels  de télécommunications non sollicitées à des consommateurs dont les numéros de téléphone sont enregistrés sur la liste nationale de numéros de télécommunication exclus (LNNTE), tout en n’étant pas abonné à la LNNTE et sans avoir payé tous les frais applicables à l'administrateur de la LNNTE, en violation de l’article 6 partie II, et de l’article 2 de la partie III, des Règles.
16 avril 2014 iQor Canada Ltd. Le personnel du CRTC a émis un procès-verbal de violation a iQor Canada Ltd. accompagné d'une sanction administrative pécuniaire de 237 500 $ pour avoir fait des télécommunications non sollicitées en utilisant un composeur-messager automatique (CMA), provoquant des violations du paragraphe IV, sous-alinéa 4(b), (c) et (d) des Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées. Une enquête du CRTC a révélé que iQor Canada Ltd a fait des télécommunications en utilisant un CMA en dehors des heures prévues et n'a pas fourni le nom de la personne pour laquelle la télécommunication a été faite ainsi qu'une adresse postale et un numéro de téléphone local ou sans-frais permettant de joindre un représentant de l'auteur du message
7 avril 2014 Northview Windows and Doors Inc. Northview Windows and Doors Inc. a payé une amende de 37 500 $ dans le cadre d’une négociation concernant des violations des articles 4, 6 et 13 de la partie II et de l’article 2 de la partie III des Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées. Une enquête du CRTC a révélé que Northview Windows and Doors Inc. a effectué des appels de télémarketing alors qu’elle n’avait pas d’abonnement à la LNNTE et n’avait pas payé tous les frais applicables. De plus, a omis de se servir de la version de la LNNTE obtenue au moins 31 jours avant la date à laquelle les télécommunications de télémarketing ont été faites, résultant en des télécommunications de télémarketing faites à des numéros de consommateurs inscrits sur la LNNTE. En plus de payer une sanction administrative pécuniaire, Northview Windows and Doors Inc. a accepté de mettre en place un programme de conformité.
7 avril 2014 NorthShield Windows and Doors Inc. NorthShield Windows and Doors Inc. a payé une amende de 15 000 $ dans le cadre d’une négociation concernant des violations des articles 4 et 6 des Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées. Une enquête du CRTC a révélé que NorthShield Windows and Doors Inc. a effectué des appels de télémarketing alors qu’elle n’avait pas d’abonnement à la LNNTE et n’avait pas payé tous les frais applicables, résultant en des télécommunications de télémarketing faites à des numéros de consommateurs inscrits sur la LNNTE. En plus de payer une sanction administrative pécuniaire, NorthShield Windows and Doors Inc. a accepté de mettre en place un programme de conformité.
9 janvier 2014 1051080 Ontario Inc. (le Groupe Turf Operations) 10501080 Ontario Inc., en son nom et au nom de certaines de ses filiales (le Groupe Turf Operations) a payé une amende de 200 000 $, dans le cadre d'un règlement sur ​​les violations des Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées. Une enquête du CRTC a constaté que 1051080 Ontario Inc. et ses filiales, Weed Man Ottawa, Weed Man Montréal, Turf Operations Hamilton, Weed Man Scarborough et Weed Man Surrey, ont fait des appels de télémarketing à des numéros de consommateurs qui étaient inscrits sur la LNNTE, ou auraient dû être mis sur la liste interne de numéros exclus du Groupe Turf Operations. En plus de payer une sanction administrative pécuniaire, le Groupe Turf Operations a accepté de mettre en œuvre un programme de conformité.
Date de modification :