Notices of Violation 2013 - Telemarketing Compliance and Enforcement

CRTC staff has issued a notice of violation to the following persons with regard to the application of the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules.

Date Person subject to the Notice of violation Description
December 17, 2013 Solus VB Inc. Solus VB Inc. has paid a $5,000 penalty for having made unsolicited telecommunications, using an Automatic Dialing-Announcing Device (ADAD) resulting in violations of Part IV, subsection 4d) of the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules. A CRTC investigation found that Solus VB Inc. did not provide the name of the person on whose behalf the telecommunication was made and a mailing address and a local or toll-free telephone number where the telecommunication originator could be reached. In addition to paying an administrative monetary penalty, Solus VB Inc. agreed to implement a compliance program.
December 4, 2013 Green Shield Windows and Doors Ltd. Green Shield has paid a $65,000 penalty for violating the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules. A CRTC investigation found that Green Shield did not consistently subscribe to the National Do not Call List (National DNCL) as required, resulting in telemarketing telecommunications made to consumers' numbers that were registered on the National DNCL. In addition to paying an administrative monetary penalty, Green Shield has agreed to implement a compliance program.
December 4, 2013 Peak Windows Ltd. Peak Windows has paid a $35,000 penalty for violating the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules. A CRTC investigation found that Peak Windows made telemarketing calls while it was not registered with the National Do Not Call List (DNCL) operator, had not subscribed to the National DNCL, and had not paid all the applicable fees, resulting in telemarketing telecommunications made to consumers' numbers that were registered on the National DNCL. In addition to paying an administrative monetary penalty, Peak Windows has agreed to implement a compliance program.
September 25, 2013 Union Calling Inc. Union Calling has paid a $65,000 penalty for having made unsolicited telecommunications. These telecommunications were made using an Automatic Dialing-Announcing Device (ADAD) resulting in violations of Part IV, subsection 4d) of the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules. A CRTC investigation found that Union Calling did not provide the name of the person on whose behalf the telecommunication was made and a mailing address and a local or toll-free telephone number where the telecommunication originator could be reached. In addition to paying an administrative monetary penalty, Union Calling agreed to implement a compliance program.
August 14, 2013 Canadian Union of Postal Workers (CUPW) The CUPW has paid a $50,000 penalty for having made unsolicited telecommunications, using an Automatic Dialing-Announcing Device (ADAD) resulting in violations of Part IV, subsection 4d) of the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules. A CRTC investigation found that the CUPW did not provide the name of the person on whose behalf the telecommunication was made and a mailing address and a local or toll-free telephone number where the telecommunication originator could be reached. In addition to paying an administrative monetary penalty, the CUPW agreed to implement a compliance program.
July 24, 2013 The Paul Dewar Leadership Campaign The Paul Dewar Leadership Campaign has paid a $7,000 penalty for having made unsolicited telecommunications, using an Automatic Dialing-Announcing Device (ADAD) resulting in violations of Part IV, subsection 4d) of the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules. A CRTC investigation found that the Paul Dewar Leadership Campaign did not provide the name of the person on whose behalf the telecommunication was made and mailing address and a local or toll-free contact telephone number where the telecommunication originator could be reached. In addition, the Paul Dewar Leadership Campaign agreed to implement a compliance program.
June 4, 2013 Strategic Communications Inc. Strategic Communications Inc. has paid a $10,000 penalty for having made unsolicited telecommunications, using an Automatic Dialing-Announcing Device (ADAD) resulting in violations of Part IV, subsection 4d) of the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules. A CRTC investigation found that Strategic Communications Inc. did not provide the name of the person on whose behalf the telecommunication was made and mailing address where the telecommunication originator could be reached. In addition, Strategic Communications Inc. agreed to implement a compliance program.
May 29, 2013 Mr. Blake Richards – Member of Parliament – Wild Rose, Alberta Mr. Blake Richards – Member of Parliament – Wild Rose, Alberta has paid a $14,400 penalty for having made unsolicited telecommunications, using an Automatic Dialing-Announcing Device (ADAD) resulting in violations of Part IV, subsection 4d) of the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules. A CRTC investigation found that Mr. Blake Richards – Member of Parliament – Wild Rose, Alberta did not provide the name of the person on whose behalf the telecommunication was made and, mailing address and a local or toll-free contact telephone number where the telecommunication originator could be reached.
May 29, 2013 Conservative Fund Canada, Chief Agent for the Conservative Party of Canada (CPC) The CPC has paid a $78,000 penalty for having made unsolicited telecommunications, using an Automatic Dialing-Announcing Device (ADAD) resulting in violations of Part IV, subsection 4d) of the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules.  A CRTC investigation found that the CPC did not provide the name, mailing address and a local or toll-free contact telephone number of the person on whose behalf the call was made.
May 29, 2013 PF Expert Montréal inc. PF Expert Montréal inc. has paid a $21, 000 penalty for having made unsolicited voice telemarketing telecommunications resulting in violations of Part II, section 4, Part II, section 6 and Part III, section 2 of the Rules. A CRTC investigation found that PF Expert Montréal inc. was not registered and subscribed to the National Do Not Call List (National DNCL) as required, resulting in telemarketing telecommunications made to consumers' numbers that were registered on the National DNCL.
May 28, 2013 RackNine Inc. RackNine Inc. has paid a $60,000 penalty for having made unsolicited telecommunications calls, using an Automatic Dialing-Announcing Device (ADAD) resulting in violations of Part IV, subsection 4d) of the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules. A CRTC investigation found that RackNine Inc. did not provide the name and address of the person on whose behalf the call was. In addition to paying an administrative monetary penalty, RackNine Inc. agreed to implement a compliance program.
May 24, 2013 Progressive Conservative Party of Ontario The Progressive Conservative Party of Ontario has paid a $85,000 penalty for having made unsolicited telecommunications calls, using an Automatic Dialing-Announcing Device (ADAD) resulting in violations of Part IV, subsection 4d) of the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules. A CRTC investigation found that the Progressive Conservative Party of Ontario did not provide the clear name, address and a local or toll-free contact telephone number of the person on whose behalf the call was made. In addition to paying an administrative monetary penalty, the Progressive Conservative Party of Ontario agreed to implement a compliance program.
May 24, 2013 Wildrose Alliance Political Association The Wildrose Alliance Political Association has paid a $90,000 penalty for having made unsolicited telecommunications, using an Automatic Dialing-Announcing Device (ADAD) resulting in violations of Part IV, subsection 4d) of the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules. A CRTC investigation found that the Wildrose Alliance Political Association did not provide the name, address and contact telephone number of the person on whose behalf the call was made. In addition to paying an administrative monetary penalty, the Wildrose Alliance Political Association agreed to implement a compliance program.
May 21, 2013 The Marc Garneau Leadership Campaign The Marc Garneau Leadership Campaign has paid a $2,500 penalty for having made unsolicited telecommunications, using an Automatic Dialing-Announcing Device (ADAD) resulting in violations of Part IV, subsection 4d) of the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules. A CRTC investigation found that The Marc Garneau Leadership Campaign did not provide the name and address of the person on whose behalf the call was made. In addition to paying an administrative monetary penalty, The Marc Garneau Leadership Campaign agreed to implement a compliance program.
May 16, 2013 The New Democratic Party of Canada (NDP)

The NDP has paid a $40,000 penalty for having made unsolicited telecommunications, using an Automatic Dialing-Announcing Device (ADAD) resulting in violations of Part IV, subsection 4d) of the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules. A CRTC investigation found that the NDP did not provide the name, address and contact telephone number of the person on whose behalf the call was made. In addition to paying an administrative monetary penalty, the NDP agreed to implement a compliance program.

March 28, 2013

Kawartha Carpet Care

Kawartha Carpet Care has paid a $9,000 penalty for violating the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules. A CRTC investigation found that Kawartha Carpet Care did not consistently subscribe to the National Do Not Call List (National DNCL) as required, resulting in telemarketing telecommunications made to consumers' numbers that were registered on the National DNCL.
March 28, 2013

Comwave Telenetworks Inc.

Comwave Telenetworks Inc. has paid a $100,000 penalty for violating the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules. A CRTC investigation found that Comwave Telenetworks Inc. did not consistently subscribe to the National Do Not Call List (National DNCL) as required, resulting in telemarketing telecommunications made by Comwave Authorized Telemarketers on Comwave's behalf to consumers' numbers that were registered on the National DNCL.
March 26, 2013 1486647 Ontario Inc. dba Ontario Consumer Credit Assistance 1486647 Ontario Inc. dba Ontario Consumer Credit Assistance has paid a $69,000. penalty for violating the Automatic Dialing-Announcing Device ("ADAD") Rules. A CRTC investigation found that Ontario Consumer Credit Assistance made calls via an ADAD, without obtaining prior express consent from consumers.
March 26, 2013

Quick Connect Solutions

Quick Connect Solutions has paid a $11,000. penalty for violating the Automatic Dialing-Announcing Device ("ADAD") Rules. A CRTC investigation found that Quick Connect Solutions made calls via an ADAD, without obtaining prior express consent from consumers.
Date modified:

Procès-verbal de violation 2013 - Télémarketing, respect et application des règles

Le personnel du CRTC a émis un procès-verbal de violation aux personnes suivantes en ce qui concerne l'application des Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées.

Date Personne faisant l'objet d'un procès-verbal Description
17 décembre 2013 Solus VB Inc. Solus VB Inc. a payé une amende de 5 000 $ pour avoir fait des télécommunications non sollicitées en utilisant un composeur-messager automatique (CMA), provoquant des violations du paragraphe IV, sous-alinéa 4d) des Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées. Une enquête du CRTC a révélé que Solus VB Inc. n'a pas fourni le nom de la personne pour laquelle la télécommunication a été faite ainsi qu'une adresse postale et un numéro de téléphone local ou sans-frais permettant de joindre un représentant de l'auteur du message. En plus de payer une sanction administrative pécuniaire, Solus VB Inc. a accepté de mettre en place un programme de conformité.
4 décembre 2013 Green Shield Windows and Doors Ltd. Green Shield a payé une amende de 65 000 $ pour avoir enfreint les Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées. Une enquête du CRTC a révélé que Green Shield ne s'est pas, tel que requis, abonnée de façon constante à la Liste nationale de numéros de télécommunication exclus (LNNTE) résultant en des télécommunications de télémarketing faites à des numéros de consommateurs inscrits sur la LNNTE. En plus de payer une sanction administrative pécuniaire, Green Shield a accepté de mettre en place un programme de conformité.
4 décembre 2013 Peak Windows Ltd. Peak Windows a payé une amende de 35 000 $ pour avoir enfreint les Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées. Une enquête du CRTC a révélé que Peak Windows a effectué des appels de télémarketing alors qu'elle n'était pas inscrite auprès de l'administrateur de la Liste nationale de numéros de télécommunication exclus (LNNTE), n'avait pas d'abonnement à la LNNTE et n'avait pas payé tous les frais applicables, résultant en des télécommunications de télémarketing faites à des numéros de consommateurs inscrits sur la LNNTE. En plus de payer une sanction administrative pécuniaire, Peak Windows a accepté de mettre en place un programme de conformité.
25 septembre 2013 Union Calling inc. Union Calling a payé une amende de 65 000 $ pour avoir fait des télécommunications non sollicitées. Ces télécommunications ont été faites en utilisant un composeur-messager automatique (CMA), provoquant des violations du paragraphe IV, sous-alinéa 4d) des Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées. Une enquête du CRTC a révélé que Union Calling n'a pas fourni le nom de la personne pour laquelle la télécommunication a été faite ainsi qu'une adresse postale et un numéro de téléphone local ou sans frais permettant de rejoindre un représentant de l'auteur du message. En plus de payer une sanction administrative pécuniaire, Union Calling a accepté de mettre en place un programme de conformité.
14 août 2013 Le Syndicat des travailleurs et travailleuses des postes (STTP) Le STTP a payé une amende de 50 000 $ pour avoir fait des télécommunications non sollicitées en utilisant un composeur-messager automatique (CMA), provoquant des violations du paragraphe IV, sous-alinéa 4d) des Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées. Une enquête du CRTC a révélé que le STTP n'a pas fourni le nom de la personne pour laquelle la télécommunication a été faite ainsi qu'une adresse postale et un numéro de téléphone local ou sans-frais permettant de joindre un représentant de l'auteur du message. En plus de payer une sanction administrative pécuniaire, le STTP a accepté de mettre en place un programme de conformité.
24 juillet 2013 La campagne à la direction de Paul Dewar La campagne à la direction de Paul Dewar a payé une amende de 7 000 $ pour avoir fait des télécommunications non sollicitées en utilisant un composeur-messager automatique (CMA), provoquant des violations du paragraphe IV, sous-alinéa 4d) des Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées. Une enquête du CRTC a révélé que la campagne à la direction de Paul Dewar n'a pas fourni le nom de la personne pour laquelle la télécommunication a été faite ainsi qu'une adresse postale et un numéro de télécommunication local ou sans frais permettant de joindre un représentant de l'auteur du message. En plus, la campagne à la direction de Paul Dewar a accepté de mettre en place un programme de conformité.
4 juin 2013 Robert Penner – Strategic Communications Inc. Strategic Communications Inc. a payé une amende de 10 000 $ pour avoir fait des télécommunications non sollicitées en utilisant un composeur-messager automatique (CMA), provoquant des violations du paragraphe IV, sous-alinéa 4d) des Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées. Une enquête du CRTC a révélé que Strategic Communications Inc. n'a pas fourni le nom de la personne pour laquelle la télécommunication a été faite ainsi qu'une adresse postale ou sans frais permettant de joindre un représentant de l'auteur du message. En plus, Strategic Communications Inc. a accepté de mettre en place un programme de conformité.
29 mai 2013 M. Blake Richards – Député – Wild Rose (Alberta) M. Blake Richards – Député – Wild Rose (Alberta) a payé une amende de 14 400 $ pour avoir fait des télécommunications non sollicitées en utilisant un composeur-messager automatique (CMA), provoquant des violations du paragraphe IV, sous-alinéa 4d) des Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées. Une enquête du CRTC a révélé que M. Blake Richards – Député – Wild Rose (Alberta) n'a pas fourni le nom de la personne pour laquelle la télécommunication a été faite ainsi qu'une adresse postale et un numéro de télécommunication local ou sans frais permettant de joindre un représentant de l'auteur du message.
29 mai 2013 Fonds conservateur du Canada, agent principal du Parti conservateur du Canada (PCC) Le PCC a payé une amende de 78 000 $ pour avoir fait des télécommunications non sollicitées en utilisant un composeur-messager automatique (CMA), provoquant des violations du paragraphe IV, sous-alinéa 4d) des Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées. Une enquête du CRTC a révélé que le PCC n'a pas fourni le nom, l'adresse et un numéro de téléphone local ou sans frais de la personne pour laquelle l'appel a été fait. 
29 mai 2013 PF Expert Montréal inc. PF Expert Montréal inc. a payé une amende de 21 000 $ pour avoir enfreint les Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées. Une enquête du CRTC a révélé que PF Expert Montréal inc. ne s'est pas, tel que requis, inscrite et abonnée à la Liste nationale de numéros de télécommunication exclus (LNNTE) résultant en des télécommunications de télémarketing faites à des numéros de consommateurs inscrits sur la LNNTE.
mai 28, 2013 RackNine Inc. – Matthew Meier RackNine Inc. a payé une amende de 60 000 $ pour avoir fait des télécommunications non sollicitées en utilisant un composeur-messager automatique (CMA) provoquant des violations du paragraphe IV, sous-alinéa 4d) des Règles. Une enquête du CRTC a révélé que RackNine Inc. n'a pas fourni le nom et l'adresse de la personne pour le compte de laquelle l'appel a été fait. En plus de payer une sanction administrative pécuniaire, RackNine Inc. a accepté de mettre en place un programme de conformité.
mai 24, 2013 Parti progressiste-conservateur de l'Ontario Le Parti progressiste-conservateur de l'Ontario a payé une amende de 85 000 $ pour avoir fait des télécommunications non sollicitées en utilisant un composeur-messager automatique (CMA) provoquant des violations du paragraphe IV, sous-alinéa 4d) des Règles. Une enquête du CRTC a révélé que le Parti progressiste-conservateur de l'Ontario n'a pas clairement fourni le nom, l'adresse et le numéro de téléphone local ou sans frais de la personne pour le compte de laquelle l'appel a été fait. En plus de payer une sanction administrative pécuniaire, le Parti progressiste-conservateur de l'Ontario a accepté de mettre en place un programme de conformité
mai 24, 2013 Association politique Wildrose Alliance L'association politique Wildrose Alliance a payé une amende de 90 000 $ pour avoir fait des télécommunications non sollicitées en utilisant un composeur-messager automatique (CMA), provoquant des violations du paragraphe IV, sous-alinéa 4d) des Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées. Une enquête du CRTC a révélé que l'association politique Wildrose Alliance n'a pas fourni le nom, l'adresse et le numéro de téléphone de la personne pour laquelle l'appel a été fait. En plus de payer une sanction administrative pécuniaire, l'association politique Wildrose Alliance a accepté de mettre en place un programme de conformité.
mai 21, 2013 La campagne à la direction de Marc Garneau La campagne à la direction de Marc Garneau a payé une amende de 2 500 $ pour avoir fait des télécommunications non sollicitées en utilisant un composeur-messager automatique (CMA), provoquant des violations du paragraphe IV, sous-alinéa 4d) des Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées. Une enquête du CRTC a révélé que La campagne à la direction de Marc Garneau n'a pas fourni le nom et l'adresse de la personne pour laquelle l'appel a été fait. En plus de payer une sanction administrative pécuniaire, la campagne à la direction de Marc Garneau a accepté de mettre en place un programme de conformité.
mai 16, 2013 Nouveau Parti démocratique du Canada (NPD) Le NPD a payé une amende de 40 000 $ pour avoir fait des télécommunications non sollicitées en utilisant un composeur-messager automatique (CMA), provoquant des violations du paragraphe IV, sous-alinéa 4d) des Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées. Une enquête du CRTC a révélé que le NPD n'a pas fourni le nom, l'adresse et le numéro de téléphone de la personne pour laquelle l'appel a été fait. En plus de payer une sanction administrative pécuniaire, le NPD a accepté de mettre en place un programme de conformité.
28 mars 2013 Kawartha Carpet Care Kawartha Carpet Care a payé une amende de 9 000 $ pour avoir enfreint les Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées. Une enquête du CRTC a révélé que Kawartha Carpet Care ne s'est pas, tel que requis, abonnée de façon constante à la Liste nationale de numéros de télécommunication exclus (LNNTE) résultant en des télécommunications de télémarketing faites à des numéros de consommateurs inscrits sur la LNNTE.
28 mars 2013

Comwave Telenetworks Inc.

Comwave Telenetwork Inc. a payé une amende de
100 000 $ pour avoir enfreint les Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées. Une enquête du CRTC a révélé que Comwave Telenetwork Inc. ne s'est pas, tel que requis, abonné régulièrement à la Liste nationale des numéros de télécommunications exclus (LNNTE). Par conséquent, le télévendeur autorisé de Comwave a fait, en son nom, des télécommunications de télémarketing à des numéros de consommateurs inscrits sur la LNNTE.
26 mars 2013 1486647 Ontario Inc. fas Ontario Consumer Credit Assistance 1486647 Ontario Inc. dba Ontario Consumer Credit Assistance a payé une amende de 69 000 $ pour avoir enfreint les Règles sur les composeurs-messagers automatiques (CMA). Une enquête du CRTC a révélé que 1486647 Ontario Inc. dba Ontario Consumer Credit Assistance a effectué des appels par CMA sans avoir obtenu au préalable le consentement exprès des consommateurs.
26 mars 2013 Quick Connect Solutions Quick Connect Solutions a payé une amende de 11 000 $ pour avoir enfreint les Règles sur les composeurs-messagers automatiques (CMA). Une enquête du CRTC a révélé que Quick Connect Solutions a effectué des appels par CMA sans avoir obtenu au préalable le consentement exprès des consommateurs.
Date de modification :